BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-04-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
toni8284
Lieutenant
toni8284's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
459
Posts

 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
Where will you mount your GoPro in your 1M?

I am curious that where will you guys mount your GoPro in your 1M?

I used to mount it under the sunroof but since the 1M doesn't had one...
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 04:57 PM   #2
b33g33
Give '///M' Hell!
b33g33's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,305
Posts

 
Drives: Einser Rex
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by toni8284 View Post
I am curious that where will you guys mount your GoPro in your 1M?

I used to mount it under the sunroof but since the 1M doesn't had one...
Don't be a quitter! Make one!

__________________
The 1 series M is the most badass, coolest, sickest BMW to debut since the 1988 M3. The E30 M3 finally has a successor. Please welcome the stupidly fast, wickedly tempered, awkwardly named, possibly perfect little son of a benchmark - Automobile Magazine, August 2011

Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 05:08 PM   #3
Snertz
H O O N
Snertz's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
581
Posts

 
Drives: ein M?!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (9)

Send a message via AIM to Snertz Send a message via Skype™ to Snertz
suction cup to the back window looking forward or back. or use the permanent sticky mounts under the trunk ledge next to the license plate lights. Inside the car it'd be the windshield or rear side windows.
__________________

U WOT M8?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 05:11 PM   #4
Snertz
H O O N
Snertz's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
581
Posts

 
Drives: ein M?!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY

iTrader: (9)

Send a message via AIM to Snertz Send a message via Skype™ to Snertz


bottom center of the rear window
__________________

U WOT M8?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 05:21 PM   #5
1SerieStud
Brigadier General
1SerieStud's Avatar
66
Rep
3,808
Posts

 
Drives: '11 VO 1M (498 of 740)
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL

iTrader: (9)

We mounted one on my car in the middle of the trunk lid looking backwards while my friend followed me in his car.
__________________
'11 e90 M3
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 06:09 PM   #6
int2str
Captain
int2str's Avatar
Germany
18
Rep
655
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (2)

Tow hook camera mount!
http://www.cravenspeed.com/gopro-camera-mount/

Video:
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 06:19 PM   #7
johnnyb84
Private
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 1 series M coupe
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)



Advevo said he mounted his on the passenger seat head rest bars using a roll bar mount.
I'm not sure how he did this. Hopefully he will see this and answer in more detail. I'm not sure how to make the roll bar fit on bars.
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2012, 06:28 PM   #8
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
692
Rep
16,681
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Here is a photo of my home-made camera mount. It attaches to the headrest. I used C-brackets that attach to the top of a stepladder. You can buy them at any hardware store. I then bought a ball-swivel mount for a camera from Amazn.

Appreciate 0
      01-05-2012, 01:57 PM   #9
theshiningnova
Private First Class
United_States
2
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

I have my gopro mount stuck to the hard plastic bits on the ceiling lamp.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2012, 05:44 AM   #10
Rikx1M
MSgt (ret)
Rikx1M's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
1,663
Posts

 
Drives: VO 1M #739/740
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Here is a photo of my home-made camera mount. It attaches to the headrest. I used C-brackets that attach to the top of a stepladder. You can buy them at any hardware store. I then bought a ball-swivel mount for a camera from Amazn.

Pretty ingenious...just be careful when you take a High "G" left turn that your head or neck don't get hooked when you straighten out the car

Personally I've put my GoPros inside upside down from sunroof in my 135, stuck on windshield, stuck on the outside left back quarter panel and on the hood and on the roof...

Outside the car with suction mount I've driven up to 130 mph and camera/mount held fine...if your on track alone not a big issue if it falls off but if you are doing a tourist drive, make sure you tie it, tether it or use tape or something as an additional support....you don't want someone to lose control because they ran over your camera & mount.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2012, 08:17 AM   #11
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
39
Rep
1,421
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Dackelone,
I'd be very concerned having that apparatus right next to my head. Not about to lecture anyone but that is dangerous.
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2012, 09:26 PM   #12
mikewills
Captain
12
Rep
781
Posts

 
Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Newport News, VA.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 Duc 848  [0.00]
Mine is suctioned to the inside of the front windshield, then facing forward. I have the LCD backpack, so it's easy to point n film.
__________________
BMWCCA #454364
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2012, 10:08 PM   #13
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
39
Rep
1,421
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Assuming you are recording on track I find the helmet mount to give a great view.
Not in the 1M but you get the idea...
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2012, 10:26 PM   #14
LeMansM5
First Lieutenant
LeMansM5's Avatar
9
Rep
362
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Apr 2005

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb84 View Post

Advevo said he mounted his on the passenger seat head rest bars using a roll bar mount.
I'm not sure how he did this. Hopefully he will see this and answer in more detail. I'm not sure how to make the roll bar fit on bars.
I do the exact same on passenger seat head-rest bars. I use the combination of Manfrotto 635 and Manfrotto 056 3D mounts. I can mount any camcorder or SLR camera with these. I use these for mounting camera / camcorder at home for kids birthday where you cannot use tripods. It actually does better job then tripod for me.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2012, 12:15 AM   #15
Juiced1M
Banned
5
Rep
419
Posts

 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: East Coast

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
made a mount to the headrest for mine
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2012, 05:12 AM   #16
Advevo
Captain
47
Rep
914
Posts

 
Drives: White 1M
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Country where the taxes are too high!!

iTrader: (0)

I took a go pro roll bar mount and took the other halve off the roll bar mount and made a straight plate so i can fasten it around the headrest pipe.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2012, 09:12 AM   #17
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
39
Rep
1,421
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Slightly off topic but check these out.

http://www.eyeofmine.com/eyeview/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxn3tG1CIvI&feature=youtube_gdata_player
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2012, 02:20 PM   #18
toni8284
Lieutenant
toni8284's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
459
Posts

 
Drives: F10 M5 LCI, VO 1M
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upper Darby, PA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advevo View Post
I took a go pro roll bar mount and took the other halve off the roll bar mount and made a straight plate so i can fasten it around the headrest pipe.

Do you mind post a photo of your finished product?
__________________
2014 F10 M5 Singapore Gray
Appreciate 0
      01-09-2012, 03:20 PM   #19
johnnyb84
Private
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 1 series M coupe
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by toni8284 View Post
Do you mind post a photo of your finished product?
+1!
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2012, 02:20 PM   #20
johnnyb84
Private
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 1 series M coupe
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa

iTrader: (0)

An update on the topic.

So having no DIY ability, I bought this.
http://www.filmtools.com/cruisecam.html
You can use a gopro tripod mount to connect it to the box, as shown here on my 1M

Name:  Go_Pro___7RvHY.jpg
Views: 2106
Size:  51.9 KB
http://i.imgur.com/7RvHY.jpg

Or you can take off the box, and use a roll bar mount.

The long bar is very easy to install and remove. It is all quite stable. Probably the most unstable bit is the car seat and head rest bars themselves, but overall gives a nice perspective. You can see shifting etc. I'm going to a ADS at Mosport at the end of April. If there is any decent footage, I'll post some. Won't be in Advevo's league obviously.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2012, 02:49 PM   #21
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
692
Rep
16,681
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyb84 View Post
An update on the topic...

The long bar is very easy to install and remove. It is all quite stable. Probably the most unstable bit is the car seat and head rest bars themselves, but overall gives a nice perspective. You can see shifting etc. I'm going to a ADS at Mosport at the end of April. If there is any decent footage, I'll post some. Won't be in Advevo's league obviously.

That is the same problem I have with my home made camera mount. Even though it is clamped down solidly to the seats headrest bars... the seat kind of "jiggles" and I get this weird rattle noise from time to time.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 09:56 AM   #22
Mnime
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
361
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 1M AW
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dallas, TX USA

iTrader: (0)

i have the same set up as jonnyb84 but i didnt get a clear view outside. It picked up the inside cabin great but all you could see out the front window was white. I have an older gopro unit (one with real batteries) so maybe they have gotten more advanced. my windows are also tinted dark too.

Any suggestions how to fix this? Is there an exposure setting maybe? Im not real familiar with filming terminology but i think that is the problem? maybe LOL could just be operator error.

I tried using my reg HD Dig video camera as well but it was too shaky and the digital quality was bad.
__________________
AW 1M #43 USA
Meisterschaft, N55 mids, AFE CAI, ER Charge, Wagner IC
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST