BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-26-2012, 10:44 AM   #1
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

SOLO DL in my 1M

having played around with the AiM Solo my past 2 track days, i decided on buying the SOLO DL with the ecu harness (plug and play by M-World).
Richard @ M-World came by last nite to install it, took under 30mins to install.
The AiM software is pretty easy to use and i cant wait to see how bad my driving is this weekend at the track.
The ecu harness allows me to capture alot of data, steering angle, brake pressure and wheel speed by each wheel, and many more...need to go thru the list.

Thanks Richard @ M-World for the install!!!



Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 11:06 AM   #2
pixelblue
Colonel
 
pixelblue's Avatar
 
Drives: the silver bullet
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: northern virginia

Posts: 2,235
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i  [4.37]
what's the gps sample rate?
__________________
"I would quote everything pixelblue said, but you've already read it. Take it from someone who's put the 1 through its paces"
pixelblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 11:06 AM   #3
Focusedintntions
Colonel
 
Drives: 2011 135i M-Sport :D
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NoVA

Posts: 2,681
iTrader: (1)

It'd be nice to see a video with that data at the same time on a video overlay style setup.
__________________
Faster, faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death… – Hunter Thompson
Focusedintntions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 11:13 AM   #4
pixelblue
Colonel
 
pixelblue's Avatar
 
Drives: the silver bullet
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: northern virginia

Posts: 2,235
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 135i  [4.37]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Focusedintntions View Post
It'd be nice to see a video with that data at the same time on a video overlay style setup.
all you need is dashware software for the layering
__________________
"I would quote everything pixelblue said, but you've already read it. Take it from someone who's put the 1 through its paces"
pixelblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 11:19 AM   #5
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelblue View Post
what's the gps sample rate?
10hz
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 01:53 PM   #6
SkinnyVT
P1
 
SkinnyVT's Avatar
 
Drives: like an asshole
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Upstate NY

Posts: 105
iTrader: (1)

your club lets you run with a suction cup mount?
__________________
'86.5 325eis Track Ho | '08 128i Daily | '04 Silverado Tow Bitch
SkinnyVT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 01:58 PM   #7
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

I'm running NASA time trials...other participants have been running them without issues, so hopefully i dont run into problems.

backup plan is to zip tie the display to the center vents.
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 02:06 PM   #8
int2str
Captain
 
int2str's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 135i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 655
iTrader: (2)

Does the wire plug into the ODBII port?
In other words, can you remove the wire when you're not racing?
int2str is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 02:29 PM   #9
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

AiM Solo DL has 2 versions - OBD2 port and ECU wire.

Mine connects directly to the ecu junction box wire. When not in used, the wires can be tucked inside the body trim (under the glovebox)

And if you go with the OBD2 version, u can just unplug it.
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 03:40 PM   #10
IGoFast1589
Captain
 
IGoFast1589's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 135i
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NY

Posts: 654
iTrader: (2)

Very cool... How much does this piece of hardware run you?
IGoFast1589 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 04:43 PM   #11
GaryS
Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 135i 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Maryland

Posts: 2,089
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 135i  [3.25]
Does it have to be mounted in the center to work right? Or can it go on driver's left?
GaryS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 06:06 PM   #12
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IGoFast1589 View Post
Very cool... How much does this piece of hardware run you?
$899 for the Solo DL, harness and windshield mount.
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2012, 06:07 PM   #13
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryS View Post
Does it have to be mounted in the center to work right? Or can it go on driver's left?
I've seen folks mount it there. There's enough cable to reach it.
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2012, 10:09 AM   #14
Buzz135
Private
 
Drives: 135
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: norcal

Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Looking forward to hearing more about this and the data output. Also how do you connect to the ECU. Is there a plug or do you have to splice in.
Buzz135 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2012, 10:23 AM   #15
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

it connects (4-5 wires spliced) to the ECU junction box under the glovebox. Good thing is you dont have to run wires to the engine bay ECU box.
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2012, 03:40 AM   #16
Richard@M-World
 
Richard@M-World's Avatar
 
Drives: NASA TTA #92 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TX/IL

Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklin Joseph View Post
AiM Solo DL has 2 versions - OBD2 port and ECU wire.

Mine connects directly to the ecu junction box wire. When not in used, the wires can be tucked inside the body trim (under the glovebox)

And if you go with the OBD2 version, u can just unplug it.
Yup. And I would like to add that the OBDII version supports up to 10 channels of data, whereas ECU integration allows up to 28 channels of data.

List of data channels available via ECU/CAN.

RPM
Thorttle Position
Speed, Indicated
Speed, Real
Wheel Speed, LF
Wheel Speed, RF
Wheel Speed, LR
Wheel Speed, RR
Steering Angle
Clutch Switch
Brake Swtich
Brake Pressure
Brake Pressure, LF
Brake Pressure, RF
Brake Pressure, LR
Brake Pressure, RR
Engine Coolant Temperature
Oil Temperature
Outside Temperature
Manifold Absolute Pressure
Gear (requires calibration)
Acceleration, Long
Acceleration, Lat
Gyro
Distance
Fuel
Battery
Fuel Injection

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franklin Joseph View Post
it connects (4-5 wires spliced) to the ECU junction box under the glovebox. Good thing is you dont have to run wires to the engine bay ECU box.
It's kind of "spliced" but not really. The harness acts as a three way (like the cable from your wall connecting to the TV box and cable modem at the same time). However, M-World's harness is completely plug and play. It involves zero cutting or splicing and is completely reversible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focusedintntions View Post
It'd be nice to see a video with that data at the same time on a video overlay style setup.
Here's a video shot using SmartyCam with Solo DL integration.

__________________
Authorized AiM Dealer - Solo/Solo DL | SmartyCam HD | www.m-world.us
Richard@M-World is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2012, 10:10 AM   #17
Franklin Joseph
Captain
 
Drives: X5 - MCS - M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (1)

Thanks for the update Richard. You installed it so quick i didnt really see what u did...good to know its not spliced.

Unfortunately something came up this weekend and i wont be able to test it out on track.

If yall need the aim solo, get with Richard!
Franklin Joseph is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST