BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-10-2017, 05:13 AM   #1
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

PLEASE HELP car wont start after MHD

I just tried to d the MHD flash and my car won't start. It is throwing lots of errors. I didn't get past the 'Connecting to ECU' stage so I exited the app, tried again. Car tries to crank when starting but won't start. All manner of errors on the iDrive. PLEASE HELP!

Here is a link to the MHD debug logs I was able to pull off my android device: http://www.filedropper.com/mhdlogs

Last edited by cozmicf; 01-10-2017 at 06:05 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 05:59 AM   #2
PG
Second Lieutenant
PG's Avatar
19
Rep
221
Posts

Drives: 08 135i 6MT
Join Date: May 2015
Location: WagVegas

iTrader: (0)

take a deep breath

make sure car is connected to a battery charger
remove the LPFP fuse
re-flash to stock ECU map using MHD
see if it works
re-flash MHD map
do multiple launches to teach the car who's boss

I hope that works for you
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 06:01 AM   #3
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PG View Post
take a deep breath

make sure car is connected to a battery charger
remove the LPFP fuse
re-flash to stock ECU map using MHD
see if it works
re-flash MHD map
do multiple launches to teach the car who's boss

I hope that works for you
I cannot connect to the ECU with the app, it says 'unable to connect to the ECU'.
I was able to connect once again, but now I cannot. When I was able to connect I tried to flash back to stock but it said 'failed to write ecu' after a few minutes of hearing the fuel pump come on.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 06:34 AM   #4
Dat Aus
Second Lieutenant
46
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

I just replied to your other thread before I saw your above reply. When you were flashing it back to stock, did you touch anything? Turn on/off the radio or wind a window up or down etc?
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 06:36 AM   #5
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dat Aus View Post
I just replied to your other thread before I saw your above reply. When you were flashing it back to stock, did you touch anything? Turn on/off the radio or wind a window up or down etc?
Not when I was flashing back to stock. Didn't touch anything, and all accessories were off. When I was flashing for the first time I did get out of the car so I opened the door, but it didn't get passed the 'Connecting to ECU...Connected" part then.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 06:50 AM   #6
Dat Aus
Second Lieutenant
46
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmicf View Post
Not when I was flashing back to stock. Didn't touch anything, and all accessories were off. When I was flashing for the first time I did get out of the car so I opened the door, but it didn't get passed the 'Connecting to ECU...Connected" part then.
Someone more knowledgeable than I should be able to say for sure, but it's possible that when you opened the door you bricked it. Although, I don't think that should have happened if it wasn't actually flashing at the time.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 07:47 AM   #7
Dat Aus
Second Lieutenant
46
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Also, apparently there are a few of dodgy cables out there that can cause connection issues. Try a different OTG cable if you have a spare. If you still can't connect, try a different K+DCAN cable too.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 07:58 AM   #8
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dat Aus View Post
Also, apparently there are a few of dodgy cables out there that can cause connection issues. Try a different OTG cable if you have a spare. If you still can't connect, try a different K+DCAN cable too.
Yeah I will see if I can find another OTG cable. The DCAN cable I have came from cable-shack, one of the recommended ones from MHD. Really hoping it's the OTG cable now..

I've been talking to someone at MHD about this problem, they had a look at my debug logs and they reckon the device is losing connection so they think it is probably the cable that is the problem. I bought the recommended DCAN cable from cable-shack so it's probably not that, but it may be the OTG cable, will try another cable tomorrow.

Last edited by cozmicf; 01-10-2017 at 08:18 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 08:17 AM   #9
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

I've been talking to someone at MHD about this problem, they had a look at my debug logs and they reckon the device is losing connection so they think it is probably the cable that is the problem. I bought the recommended DCAN cable from cable-shack so it's probably not that, but it may be the OTG cable, will try another cable tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 08:32 AM   #10
Dat Aus
Second Lieutenant
46
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Yep. Sounds like the OTG cable if it's not even connecting. The K+DCAN cables are all probably made in the same factory, so regardless of where you actually bought it from, it's possibly still one of the faulty ones.

I have a spare OTG cable here. Let me know if you can't find another one locally and I'll send it over. Will probably get there quicker than if you were to order a new one online from eBay or elsewhere.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 08:39 AM   #11
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dat Aus View Post
Yep. Sounds like the OTG cable if it's not even connecting. The K+DCAN cables are all probably made in the same factory, so regardless of where you actually bought it from, it's possibly still one of the faulty ones.

I have a spare OTG cable here. Let me know if you can't find another one locally and I'll send it over. Will probably get there quicker than if you were to order a new one online from eBay or elsewhere.
Thanks. I will try one from Officeworks tomorrow. If that doesn't work I may take you up on your offer. Where did you get yours? Which state are you in?
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 08:52 AM   #12
vtl
Colonel
vtl's Avatar
Australia
387
Rep
2,264
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Number one noob mistake I see is people not turning on the ignition. Also, although can be rare, sometimes the cable might take heaps of tries to connect.

Make sure the ignition is ON, as in you can see the fuel read out. If you got the cable from the proven link it should work, but doesn't mean there's no faulty cables out there.
__________________
Build Thread | MHD Stage 2+ | Agency Power DPs | PE Mod Exhaust | 550i Clutch | Wagner FMIC | Turbosmart Kompact DVs | M3 Control arms | Bilstein B12 ProKit | Dinan Camber Plates | M3 Front Sway | E46 M3 Trans mounts | Nolathane rear subframe bushings | Ferodo DS2500 pads | Yokohama AD08R | 18" BMW 313 Rims | Schroth Harness | M3 Steering Wheel | LEDs | CIC + Combox retrofit
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 08:56 AM   #13
Dat Aus
Second Lieutenant
46
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmicf View Post
Thanks. I will try one from Officeworks tomorrow. If that doesn't work I may take you up on your offer. Where did you get yours? Which state are you in?
I bought both my K+DCAN cable and OTG cables from the links provided by Marty in the first post of this thread.

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1209577

I'm in Adelaide. Just checked and the OTG cables in the eBay link in that thread actually come from here in Australia; not China as I had thought. So they would probably arrive just as quickly as mine would. Still, if you need it, I'm happy to send you my spare.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 04:27 PM   #14
Stools
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: 11 135 coupe
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

Sounds like the otg cable, my jb4 used to do that error connecting crap all the time pre bluetooth.
Jaycar should have a qaulity one.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 06:16 PM   #15
Superdaws
Lieutenant
Australia
11
Rep
408
Posts

Drives: BMW 135i M Sport Le Mans Blue
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

I had a problem with 1 OTG cable, went to MSY and bought another for $2 and it was fine. If you dont wanna wait for postage i suggest trying them.
__________________

2010 BMW 135i M Sport 6MT | Le Mans Blue | BMW Perf CF Rear Diffuser | BMW Perf CF Rear Spoiler | Kerscher CF Front Lip | MHD | Wagner Evo2Comp | VRSF DP's | ER CP Turbosmart Dual Port | LUX AE's | Alpine Hifi | Blacklines
2010 BMW E70 X5 30D Sports Innovation | Sapphire Black | Black Leather | LUX AE's
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 06:18 PM   #16
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Bought one from Officeworks, same problem. Might try one from Jay car and jbhifi
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 07:27 PM   #17
martymil
Lieutenant Colonel
martymil's Avatar
Australia
199
Rep
1,773
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

The ones from my thread are fully tested and never had a dodgy one

The sale is for 2 otg cables at 4 dollars for the pair

They really should make that thread a sticky for newer members
__________________
Opinions are like assholes everyones got one and they're often full of crap.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 07:27 PM   #18
Dat Aus
Second Lieutenant
46
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozmicf View Post
Bought one from Officeworks, same problem. Might try one from Jay car and jbhifi
If you're having the same problem with 2 different OTG cables, it's likely that the fault is with the K+DCAN cable. I would try (multiple times) with one more OTG and if that still doesn't work, see if you can borrow someone else's DCAN and return the one you bought.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 10:04 PM   #19
The Wind Breezes
Major
264
Rep
1,071
Posts

Drives: 135i N55 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Hate to be the bearer of bad news but while you may well have cable issues your issue NOW is the ECU isn't in standard state and will need to be bench flashed. It doesn't make sense that your cable would connect before and at least get you far enough to (temporarily) brick the computer and now you can't connect at all so it must be the cable...no, it's the ECU.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 10:15 PM   #20
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Wind Breezes View Post
Hate to be the bearer of bad news but while you may well have cable issues your issue NOW is the ECU isn't in standard state and will need to be bench flashed. It doesn't make sense that your cable would connect before and at least get you far enough to (temporarily) brick the computer and now you can't connect at all so it must be the cable...no, it's the ECU.
I really hope that is not the case. I was able to connect to the ECU once after the first failed flashing, but couldn't upload the stock rom because it said 'failed to flash ecu, unable to erase memory'. Haven't been able to connect since.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 10:21 PM   #21
martymil
Lieutenant Colonel
martymil's Avatar
Australia
199
Rep
1,773
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

It can easily be recovered just need a good working cable and android tablet that's known to work 100%

Done this a few times for other people

If you where in Sydney I would do it for you
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2017, 10:28 PM   #22
cozmicf
Rik
Australia
3
Rep
95
Posts

Drives: DSB 135i 2011 DCT N55
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
It can easily be recovered just need a good working cable and android tablet that's known to work 100%

Done this a few times for other people

If you where in Sydney I would do it for you
Thanks martymil, and everyone else for your help. It's reassuring to know it can still be recovered.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 AM.




1addicts
1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST