BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-02-2012, 11:19 AM   #1
ejm3
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
660
Posts

 
Drives: 135 Convertible 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Need TPM reset?

For the first time I got a warning for a low tire.
I inflated the tire and ran the car for a few minutes but I'm still getting the warning.
In my other cars the warning went off after inflation.
Do I need to do a manual reset in the 1-series?
__________________
2012 135 Convertible
2010 Lexus RX350
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 11:38 AM   #2
Stohlen
Major
18
Rep
1,228
Posts

 
Drives: AW 135i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Waterford, Mi

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [2.83]
Pretty much. Annoying isnt it?
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 12:54 PM   #3
Walt White Coupe
Private First Class
1
Rep
167
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 135i, 2009 Vette
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phila, PA

iTrader: (0)

The warning should go away when you increase the pressure. Where your wheels ever moved from their original position? Did the reset fix the problem?
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 01:04 PM   #4
Stohlen
Major
18
Rep
1,228
Posts

 
Drives: AW 135i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Waterford, Mi

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [2.83]
It should I agree, but for some reason it doesnt on alot of these. On mine, I have a slow leak in a tire, and every time it goes off and I refill the tire, I have to manually reset it. Every Time.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 03:37 PM   #5
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
708
Rep
16,719
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

[QUOTE/]Do I need to do a manual reset in the 1-series?[/quote]

Yes, you now need to reset the tpms system. You need to set the new target pressure. You do while the car is running but STOPPED, use the iDrive or BC stalk to reset the tpms.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 03:45 PM   #6
ejm3
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
660
Posts

 
Drives: 135 Convertible 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Ok I guess I will reset.
I have the original Dunlop RFTs on the original wheels.
The tire where I was getting the warning was at 25 psi. The other front tire was about 26 so I figure I would have gotten a warning there soon as well.
The sidewall says 51psi max.
That seems high to me. I inflated fronts to 32 and rears to 36. Does that make sense?
__________________
2012 135 Convertible
2010 Lexus RX350
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 03:58 PM   #7
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
708
Rep
16,719
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Use to recommended tire pressures on the drivers door sill jam. Your pressures sound fine, don 't run tire Max pressures. I usually run 2.3 and 2.8 bar for the high speed autobahns, you can run much less for added comfort. The reset you tpms while stopped, then you will need to drive a few hundredmeters for the system to reset and learn your new target pressures. :-)
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 05:22 PM   #8
Stohlen
Major
18
Rep
1,228
Posts

 
Drives: AW 135i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Waterford, Mi

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 BMW 135i  [2.83]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejm3 View Post
The sidewall says 51psi max.
Never use the sidewall as a reference. Thats just what the tire can take, not what it should be set at for your car. Because every car is different.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2012, 06:50 PM   #9
ejm3
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
660
Posts

 
Drives: 135 Convertible 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Actually once I started driving it did reset by itself.
I couldn't imagine putting 51 PSI in those tires!
__________________
2012 135 Convertible
2010 Lexus RX350
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2012, 04:12 PM   #10
capri
Private First Class
Philippines
3
Rep
146
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Philippines

iTrader: (0)

do you guys have to install a TPMS system when installing new tires and wheels ?
If you dont install these, how do you get rid of the warning lights @ the dashboard ?

Thanks for the inputs.
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2012, 04:21 PM   #11
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
708
Rep
16,719
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by capri View Post
do you guys have to install a TPMS system when installing new tires and wheels ?
If you dont install these, how do you get rid of the warning lights @ the dashboard ?

Thanks for the inputs.
Yes, you need a 2nd set of TPMS for your extra snow tires/wheels.

There is an early and late TPMS freq too, so know which one your car has. I seem to recall that starting from Sept 2010 build dates(?) - BMW changed the TPMS freq.


Yes, you can also have either the entire TPMS coded out - so you don't get any low tire or lights/gong going off. OR... you can have the EU TPMS coded into your car. This will use the car's ABS sensors to detect a flat tire. This is something I think only the German coder's can do/offer. At least I have not heard of anyone doing it in the states. Smellthebeans - has had the EU tpms activated on his 128i.


Dack
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2012, 10:27 AM   #12
Twhill19
hungry
Twhill19's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
880
Posts

 
Drives: 2012-135i-N55
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

go drive around it will shut off...i fill to about 46 on all 4 wheels, 51 psi in the cold is iffy on bumps, feels like your about to explode
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2012, 07:50 AM   #13
Iron Man
Captain
Iron Man's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
636
Posts

 
Drives: '13 128i Alpinweiß/Korallenrot
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twhill19 View Post
go drive around it will shut off...i fill to about 46 on all 4 wheels, 51 psi in the cold is iffy on bumps, feels like your about to explode
46 psi seems way too high. What are the recommended pressures on your door sill? That can't be good for the life/performance of your tires...
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2012, 03:23 PM   #14
Twhill19
hungry
Twhill19's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
880
Posts

 
Drives: 2012-135i-N55
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

thats on a hot day, in the cold i fill to like 34-38...i had them initially at 31 all around but i kept getting low tire pressure warnings every time i started the car...havent gotten one since...
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2012, 03:25 PM   #15
Twhill19
hungry
Twhill19's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
880
Posts

 
Drives: 2012-135i-N55
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

guess its preference for comfort as well...
Appreciate 0
      12-14-2012, 04:46 PM   #16
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
708
Rep
16,719
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Man View Post
46 psi seems way too high. What are the recommended pressures on your door sill? That can't be good for the life/performance of your tires...
BMW full load max tire pressures for my 135i is 2.3 bar(33psi) front and 2.8 bar(41 psi) in the rear. I run those pressures bc I drive at high speeds (over 100 mph) on the Autobahn(s).
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2012, 03:20 PM   #17
N61WP
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Covington, La

iTrader: (0)

Help!
Just installed new Mich Super Sports on my 08 135 conv yesterday. I set all 4 tire pressure to 38psi. The TPM warning is up on the screen, telling me I need to reset. I went to the owners manual for resetting directions, but I can't get the screen to move off the warning. Pushing the menu button or the idrive knob do nothing. I have tried it with the car running or off and still the screen stays locked on the warning.
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2012, 03:38 PM   #18
Dackelone
Moderator
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
708
Rep
16,719
Posts

 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N61WP View Post
Help!
Just installed new Mich Super Sports on my 08 135 conv yesterday. I set all 4 tire pressure to 38psi. The TPM warning is up on the screen, telling me I need to reset. I went to the owners manual for resetting directions, but I can't get the screen to move off the warning. Pushing the menu button or the idrive knob do nothing. I have tried it with the car running or off and still the screen stays locked on the warning.

Even though this is for an e60... it should also be the same procedure for your car.
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2012, 04:03 PM   #19
N61WP
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 135i Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Covington, La

iTrader: (0)

I got it reset. I held the menu button down when I first put the key in. The screen popped up and I guess I forced it into the menu screen. The rest went fine.

Thanks for the help!
Jc
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST