BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-30-2010, 12:41 AM   #1
CORMAN
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 135i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wichita Falls, TX

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

M1 Gauge Faces - can we use 'em?

Anyone know if we can just swap the face plates of the speedo and tach on our "lesser" models for the M swag? Looks SO much cleaner and less busy. My local parts dept thinks the whole cluster pod would have to be swapped - $700+ for stock, imagine the M would be outrageous. Thoughts? Thanks.
CORMAN is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2010, 07:12 AM   #2
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 16,133
iTrader: (1)

Not only would you need the new instrument pod but you would also need a dealer to "code" it to your car.

I while back I posted some speedo decalls I saw on ebay.de (the German website)... I think those look better than the M1 ones. Have a look here:

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showt...hlight=ebay.de

And... ofcourse you could also just get a M3 instrument cluster and have that coded to work in your car. That looks the best IMO.

Dackel
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2010, 10:22 AM   #3
NFIDDY5
I bleed Scarlet and Gray!!
 
NFIDDY5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buckeye Nut House

Posts: 553
iTrader: (0)

Sounds like a lot of work for a new instrument cluster.
NFIDDY5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2010, 12:38 PM   #4
Dackelone
Moderator
 
Dackelone's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i Silber mit/Rot 6MT N54
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

Posts: 16,133
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NFIDDY5 View Post
Sounds like a lot of work for a new instrument cluster.

The guy I met over here (in Germany) who does "car coding" said he has done quite a few. Mostly for Germans who go to the states and buy a CPO'd or used M3's and bring them over here. Even after paying all the German (Zoll)customs fees (+30% I think?) they still come out ahead(than buying a used one over here).

He told me most Germans want their speedo in KPH and not MPH. Even though our US instruments have KPH markings... the euro cluster looks a lot cleaner/simplier.

He told me that you can find old M3 clusters on ebay.de for 300 to 400 euros. Then he charges (about) 110 euros to code it to your car.

There are also many speedo service shops that can mod your intrument gauges for different decalls. A few e90 guys have done that. I saw one where one guy spent 700 euros ($900+) for a 330 kph speedo in 30kph increments! Alpina something was his name. I think thats a little crazy $$$.


135i w/M3 instrument gauges - car coding event in Nuernberg.

And here is what I found on ebay.de…



http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=470543

Dackel
Dackelone is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2010, 04:06 PM   #5
onefastman
Major General
 
Drives: 2009 135i 2011 e92m dct
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth

Posts: 5,698
iTrader: (15)

Man I wish they could easily do that here!
__________________
Legal Disclaimer: Anything I or anyone else says about my vehicle on this website(1addicts.com or any affiliated or nonaffiliated sites), pertaining to modifications, is only to gain acceptance from my/our peers, and does not actually represent anything actually existing on my car, and thus, cannot be held against me in any issues, i.e. warranty claims, that may arise.
onefastman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2012, 07:33 PM   #6
DimitrisM3
e90 my big fat lady!
 
DimitrisM3's Avatar
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Greece Naoussa

Posts: 233
iTrader: (0)

can you give me email to sent them my M3 instument gauge
__________________
DimitrisM3 is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2012, 08:57 PM   #7
ChristianReyess
Private First Class
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

I want the M# cluster, I like the white light that shines though on the top... I wonder If i can get this done in Sothern Cal... Hmmmm
ChristianReyess is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2013, 05:57 PM   #8
cartaa100
Captain
 
cartaa100's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sydney

Posts: 681
iTrader: (0)

Not worth it, unfortunately!
__________________
cartaa100 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2013, 04:46 AM   #9
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,396
iTrader: (0)

1M speed dial/face is to 300 KMh 135i is 260 KMh so you will get incorrect speed and where do you plan to get them? I think easier will be to find full speedo and to code to your car like Dackel said
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST