BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-20-2012, 01:59 AM   #1
Curare86
Lieutenant
11

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: perth


Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)

head unit upgrade

http://www.cartronix.com.au/index.ph...&product_id=86 or http://www.cargpsnet.com/bmw-e82-1-s...dio-p-539.html

anyone on here tried it?
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2012, 07:50 AM   #2
froop
Colonel
Australia
61

 
froop's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 AW 6MT E82
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia


Posts: 2,195
iTrader: (2)

Nope but definitely interested. Just noticed yesterday that my radio screen is starting to fail.... Some of the pixels at the top are faded depending on what characters are underneath...
__________________
Procede Rev 3 | PWM Meth | Mr5 Intake | AFE Scoops | ER FMIC | ER CP | TiAl BOV | AR Catless DPs | CP-E Exhaust | Forgestar F14s | M3 Strut Tower Brace | M3 Front Arms | M3 F + R Sway Bars | M3 Rear End Conversion | Moton Clubsports with Swift Springs | Vorshlag Camber Plates | ECS 2-Piece Rotors | SS Lines | Cool Carbons | BR Half Cage | BMWP SSK | BMWP Interior/Exterior Goodies | Blacklines | P3 Gauge | 1M Interior |
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2012, 09:25 AM   #3
Knightelf
Captain
Australia
16

 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
that looks pretty cool, too bad that place is in Sydney

I wonder if I can find someone in Brisbane to install it...

http://www.xudox.com.au/index.php?ro...product_id=100

Last edited by Knightelf; 10-20-2012 at 09:31 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2012, 09:00 PM   #4
Curare86
Lieutenant
11

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: perth


Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)

who wants to be the guinea pig then?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 07:49 PM   #5
gtappers
Private
Australia
0

 
gtappers's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia


Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)

I would love to know how well this works in practice. It looks as if the air-con controls get moved down a "step" to make room for the screen?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
GClark91
Private First Class
Australia
4

 
GClark91's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SB 118d
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

Well I am pretty interested. But i am going to sit and watch until someone else does!
__________________
One happy 1er
Nothing beats the looks I get when I tell them about what I drive and how old I am!
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 08:09 PM   #7
Mechz
Naturally Aspirated Fiend
1

 
Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne


Posts: 153
iTrader: (0)

Why this over the Dynavin?
__________________
'06 130i M Sport Hatch
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 08:16 PM   #8
Knightelf
Captain
Australia
16

 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
http://www.dynavin.com/products/product_dnv_e8x.php

Looks funny... and reduces the air con vent by heaps?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 09:38 PM   #9
gtappers
Private
Australia
0

 
gtappers's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia


Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)

Yeah, I have to agree. I'm not crazy about how the Dynavin looks once fitted from the pics I've seen. That said, I think Dynavin do an Android-powered (2.2 unfortunately) unit, rather than WinCE as with Xudox.
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 10:59 PM   #10
Knightelf
Captain
Australia
16

 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtappers View Post
Yeah, I have to agree. I'm not crazy about how the Dynavin looks once fitted from the pics I've seen. That said, I think Dynavin do an Android-powered (2.2 unfortunately) unit, rather than WinCE as with Xudox.
Imagine what you can do with a Win 8 based unit that takes all the x86 programs!
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 11:22 PM   #11
pavo335
Banned
55

 
pavo335's Avatar
 
Drives: 3.5 wheeler
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: sydney


Posts: 2,981
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightelf View Post
Imagine what you can do with a Win 8 based unit that takes all the x86 programs!
will it play porn?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2012, 11:24 PM   #12
Knightelf
Captain
Australia
16

 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
You could stream your own private collection if you wanted to but not advisable if you drive stick
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 12:13 AM   #13
ReyT
Second Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aus


Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightelf View Post
Imagine what you can do with a Win 8 based unit that takes all the x86 programs!
eww window

If you can get an android unit with JB it would be awesome.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 12:41 AM   #14
OOOSQ
First Lieutenant
Australia
6

 
OOOSQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2.0d AW X3 M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia


Posts: 348
iTrader: (0)

Looks cheap imho
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 12:42 AM   #15
Knightelf
Captain
Australia
16

 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyT View Post
eww window

If you can get an android unit with JB it would be awesome.
You can't play D3 on Android :P
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 01:26 AM   #16
ReyT
Second Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aus


Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightelf View Post
You can't play D3 on Android :P
lol that ship sailed many moons ago

I hope window 8 will be the death of microsoft.... *wishful thinking*

anyway - back on topic, I would be surprise if that head unit will play nice with all the other factory stuff.

From memory some guy that installed the dynavin still needed the factory unit hooked up to keep some of the factory functionality.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 04:49 PM   #17
Mechz
Naturally Aspirated Fiend
1

 
Drives: 130i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne


Posts: 153
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightelf View Post
http://www.dynavin.com/products/product_dnv_e8x.php

Looks funny... and reduces the air con vent by heaps?
I thought this model fit also

http://www.dynavin.com/products/product_dnv_e9xm.php

I know the other one is a bit of a change if you like your vents bigger.
__________________
'06 130i M Sport Hatch
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 09:07 PM   #18
Knightelf
Captain
Australia
16

 
Drives: 2011 135i SGM DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 135i  [0.00]
Doesn't list the E82, says it's for 3 series?
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 09:33 PM   #19
Curare86
Lieutenant
11

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: perth


Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyT View Post
lol that ship sailed many moons ago

I hope window 8 will be the death of microsoft.... *wishful thinking*

anyway - back on topic, I would be surprise if that head unit will play nice with all the other factory stuff.

From memory some guy that installed the dynavin still needed the factory unit hooked up to keep some of the factory functionality.
I emailed them asking about this. Waiting to hear back. I was thinking of trying to convince BMW to install it for me compo, since I have the "dead/distorted pixels in hot car" issue and this is usually replacfed under warranty
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 09:40 PM   #20
ReyT
Second Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aus


Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curare86 View Post
I emailed them asking about this. Waiting to hear back. I was thinking of trying to convince BMW to install it for me compo, since I have the "dead/distorted pixels in hot car" issue and this is usually replacfed under warranty
Personally if I were to upgrade the head unit I would go the whole hog.

and go with the new iDrive retrofit.

http://www.bimmerretrofit.com/portal.../brc01p10.html

Used by a few of the e90post members.
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 09:46 PM   #21
Curare86
Lieutenant
11

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: perth


Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReyT View Post
Personally if I were to upgrade the head unit I would go the whole hog.

and go with the new iDrive retrofit.

http://www.bimmerretrofit.com/portal.../brc01p10.html

Used by a few of the e90post members.
trust you to choose the most expensive option :P
Appreciate 0
      10-22-2012, 09:53 PM   #22
ReyT
Second Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aus


Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curare86 View Post
trust you to choose the most expensive option :P
pfft coming from the guy doing a 1M conversion

haha but you know it works good the Dynavin range or similar Android offering seems to be really sluggish and doesn't interact well with factory stuff.

Learnt my lesson with my SLK putting in an aftermarket Head unit, worst experience ever - should have just gone with a retrofit of OEM head unit!

anyway if you email them - give them your VIN# and they will let you know what is possible what is not, and create a iDrive CIC Package for your car.

May or may not require remote coding - depends on the car.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST