BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-09-2013, 08:22 PM   #1
cu260r6
New Member
 
Drives: 128i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CO

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Emergency Brake Re-enable?

I live in a snowy climate, and there are few things more fun than slipping and sliding all around in the snow, but my e-brake doesn't work while moving at any speed. There must be some electronic disable programmed into it, so does anyone know how to turn this off and get it to function as a normal, mechanically connected e-brake?
cu260r6 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2013, 08:52 PM   #2
KingOfJericho
Brigadier General
 
KingOfJericho's Avatar
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CT

Posts: 4,859
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2010 135i Coupe  [2.63]
It is a mechanical brake so there are no electronic overrides but with 300+ hp and a 3200lb car, it's got a ton of work to do to stop the car. If you pull it up hard enough it will work but it's not going to lock up you rear wheels and bring you to a smokey halt, if that's what you're aiming for.
__________________
The views and opinions expressed in this post are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Bimmerpost.

2010 S4 Current | 2010 BMW 135i Retired | 2006 Lotus Exige Retired
KingOfJericho is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2013, 09:24 PM   #3
dan_brooks
Private
 
dan_brooks's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 135i Manual
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

I'm assuming you're a manual? If so then put your clutch in when you try it - I've done this on a skidpan a few times and it works!

Otherwise in my old mans DCT 335i, you can pull the handbrake as long as you're not accelerating
dan_brooks is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 10:36 AM   #4
08LMB135i
Rally Armored 135i, don't copy me!
 
Drives: 2008 Lemans Blue 135i M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary Alberta

Posts: 186
iTrader: (0)

Handbrake always works on my car.
08LMB135i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 10:48 AM   #5
shah269
Captain
 
Drives: 2009
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NJ

Posts: 889
iTrader: (0)

huh?
dude...how did you do that!
shah269 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 12:47 PM   #6
RimasRS
Colonel
 
RimasRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

Posts: 2,385
iTrader: (0)

It always works... Just remember it is rear wheel drive car and E-brake works for rear wheels. So it will work only when you are not spinning wheels.

P.S. sometimes it surprises me what a knowledgeable people some of us are
RimasRS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 10:43 PM   #7
rking117
Captain
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 128i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 854
iTrader: (0)

The Ebrake uses seperate brake pads if i remember right so i wwonder if they could be worn or need adjusting. The rear caliper is a drum and a caliper all in one if i am correct.
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2013, 10:56 PM   #8
awns729
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: West Nyack, NY

Posts: 202
iTrader: (1)

Yeah, ebrakes can be adjusted. I think there's a DIY post here somewhere
awns729 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 12:06 AM   #9
cu260r6
New Member
 
Drives: 128i
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: CO

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Haha, whoops! Mine must have been maladjusted from the get-go because even on deep snow or ice it won't lock up the rear wheels while moving, throttle on or not. I'll take a look at the DIY.
cu260r6 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 12:49 AM   #10
golf_234
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 C230
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City

Posts: 354
iTrader: (0)

I think op is actually right, i noticed this. The intervention is not on the brake end, but on the throttle end. The car knows when the E brake is applied, obviously, a light shows up on your dash. I am definitely with op on this, noticed it as well. it will limit your throttle when your ebrake is applied.
__________________
golf_234 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 12:51 AM   #11
golf_234
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 C230
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Salt Lake City

Posts: 354
iTrader: (0)

sorry misread. while i definitely notice the throttling, there is no brake intervention. you prob just need to adjust your ebrake.
__________________
golf_234 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST