BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-23-2013, 05:03 PM   #1
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

What just happened?

Gave the car a bootful off the line this morning with the procede on. However being a bit out of practice I managed to trigger the kickdown to 1st, which of course resulted in wheelspin and since I had the TCS on it killed the party. This is not unusual.

However the car then wouldn't go back on boost and the engine light came on and the car was running very rough. I pulled over turned it off and then on and it seemed fine again. I haven't driven it far since the place I pulled over was the work car park.

I'll get Advan to check the code when I get a chance but I've got NFI what went wrong, the cars been pulling fine, and I've had an exhaust valve fail some years back that would result in the engine light and the turbos being turned off (wastegate help open in limp mode).

All rather odd and hopefully not a sign of something serious.

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:11 PM   #2
Ian///M
Major General
 
Ian///M's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AU

Posts: 6,247
iTrader: (0)

CP popped off?

EDIT: Sorry, didn't see that you said it was running fine after turning off, so can't be CP (Chargepipe)

My 135i used to do the same with the PROCede every few months
__________________
BMW 1M VO - Cobb + PTF e-Tune, Akrapovic wireless, MadDad mids, ETS 5" FMIC, ER CP, TurboSmart PB DV's, SSK, CDV, OCC, AWRON Gauge, Hankook RS-3's, Vorshlag Camber plates

Last edited by Ian///M; 01-23-2013 at 05:30 PM.
Ian///M is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:17 PM   #3
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian///M
CP popped off?
What's the CP? Sorry not familiar with that?

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:22 PM   #4
JB4-335
Colonel
 
JB4-335's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 BSM & E70 AW
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 2,553
iTrader: (1)

If the car runs fine I wouldn't worry about it Byron but would be a good idea to see the code. Sounds like the usual temperamental N54 behaviour with the DME saying "I didn't appreciate what you were just trying to do so I'm not gonna let you use my turbos" resulting in limp mode.
__________________
JB4
JB4-335 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:35 PM   #5
Scoobs
Banned
 
Drives: 135i Space Grey DCT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney Australia

Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)

I too had a few issues with Limp mode with my Procede. WHen ever I jumped on it - bang ! and limp mode.

Solution for me was getting the latest DME software at BMW. Mine was one of the first N55's in the country - so 2010 build.

Adrian also updated the Procede software to the latest rev.

Since then no issues
Scoobs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:37 PM   #6
pavo335
Banned
 
pavo335's Avatar
 
Drives: 3.5 wheeler
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: sydney

Posts: 2,981
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JB4135 View Post
If the car runs fine I wouldn't worry about it Byron but would be a good idea to see the code. Sounds like the usual temperamental N54 behaviour with the DME saying "I didn't appreciate what you were just trying to do so I'm not gonna let you use my turbos" resulting in limp mode.
see now that sounds like the brunette talking, where is the blonde
pavo335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:40 PM   #7
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Thanks guys. Would limp mode cause it to run/idle rough? Or just cut out the turbos?

Thanks
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:45 PM   #8
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian///M
CP popped off?

EDIT: Sorry, didn't see that you said it was running fine after turning off, so can't be CP (Chargepipe)

My 135i used to do the same with the PROCede every few months
No CP, just procede!

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:48 PM   #9
pavo335
Banned
 
pavo335's Avatar
 
Drives: 3.5 wheeler
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: sydney

Posts: 2,981
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by choppedliver View Post
Thanks guys. Would limp mode cause it to run/idle rough? Or just cut out the turbos?

Thanks
yeh both are possible, all proceed cars have this problem.
pavo335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:51 PM   #10
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavo335
Quote:
Originally Posted by choppedliver View Post
Thanks guys. Would limp mode cause it to run/idle rough? Or just cut out the turbos?

Thanks
yeh both are possible, all proceed cars have this problem.
Phew, I'm feeling calmer now. Will test later.

Thanks

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 05:53 PM   #11
Drawn05
Captain
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Left

Posts: 787
iTrader: (0)

Time to change plugs and coils. My car used to do the same thing - go WOT then DTC would kick in and misfire, then CEL and limp.
Drawn05 is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:18 PM   #12
froop
Colonel
 
froop's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 AW 6MT E82
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 2,161
iTrader: (2)

For me the Procede fixed my misfire issues.

I took it to Peter to dyno it whilst still stock and apparently it was misfiring all over the joint.

I installed the Procede and have since tracked it, dragged it, driven it like it was stolen and it only CEL'd once when I was driving home from the track (even with the CEL it was running fine).
__________________
Procede Rev 3 | PWM Meth | Mr5 Intake | AFE Scoops | ER FMIC | ER CP | TiAl BOV | AR Catless DPs | CP-E Exhaust | Forgestar F14s | M3 Strut Tower Brace | M3 Front Arms | M3 F + R Sway Bars | M3 Rear End Conversion | Moton Clubsports with Swift Springs | Vorshlag Camber Plates | ECS 2-Piece Rotors | SS Lines | Cool Carbons | BR Half Cage | BMWP SSK | BMWP Interior/Exterior Goodies | Blacklines | P3 Gauge | 1M Interior |
froop is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:18 PM   #13
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drawn05 View Post
Time to change plugs and coils. My car used to do the same thing - go WOT then DTC would kick in and misfire, then CEL and limp.
I did the plugs in May 12 about 6000kms ago so perhaps its coil. I'll see if it does it again.

B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:30 PM   #14
pavo335
Banned
 
pavo335's Avatar
 
Drives: 3.5 wheeler
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: sydney

Posts: 2,981
iTrader: (0)

seriously plug the computer in and see what the code was, no need to change all those coils if its only one bad one
pavo335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:34 PM   #15
Scoobs
Banned
 
Drives: 135i Space Grey DCT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney Australia

Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavo335 View Post
yeh both are possible, all proceed cars have this problem.
I've had no problems since the correct ( compatible ) DME was installed.

So I wouldn't make a bold statement like that.
Scoobs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:38 PM   #16
Ian///M
Major General
 
Ian///M's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AU

Posts: 6,247
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobs View Post
I've had no problems since the correct ( compatible ) DME was installed.

So I wouldn't make a bold statement like that.
Scoobs just don't

Just add him to the ignore list under user options, that's what I have done
__________________
BMW 1M VO - Cobb + PTF e-Tune, Akrapovic wireless, MadDad mids, ETS 5" FMIC, ER CP, TurboSmart PB DV's, SSK, CDV, OCC, AWRON Gauge, Hankook RS-3's, Vorshlag Camber plates
Ian///M is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:39 PM   #17
Jeef Beef
Lord Captain Commander
 
Jeef Beef's Avatar
 
Drives: a sleeper
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 3,089
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by choppedliver View Post
No CP, just procede!

B
Your car has a stock rubber chargepipe that has the tendency to pop off with higher boost applications.

It's a good idea to change to a solid one like Evolution Racewerkes to prevent such an issue. It'll also set you up for other power mods which you will do in the future.

As for the issue you had, just sounds like a standard BMW gremlin. Get the code read and see what it says.
__________________

E82 135i M-sport: SGM/6MT/Black
Jeef Beef is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:40 PM   #18
choppedliver
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 135i Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Australia

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavo335 View Post
seriously plug the computer in and see what the code was, no need to change all those coils if its only one bad one
I'll see if it happens again and if it does I'll get Pete to sort it for me.


B
choppedliver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:48 PM   #19
Scoobs
Banned
 
Drives: 135i Space Grey DCT
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney Australia

Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by choppedliver View Post
I'll see if it happens again and if it does I'll get Pete to sort it for me.


B
Are you N55 ?

As mentioned above - if you are running the older DME, then I understand that there is a compatability issue between that and the Procede.

Pre DME upgrade, I only had to stomp on it to trigger a limp mode

Since the new Rev installed - zero issues ( touch wood ). Been close to 12 months though - so hopefully problem solved
Scoobs is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:50 PM   #20
pavo335
Banned
 
pavo335's Avatar
 
Drives: 3.5 wheeler
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: sydney

Posts: 2,981
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian///M View Post
Scoobs just don't

Just add him to the ignore list under user options, that's what I have done
Ian why so angry

Have I offended you again
pavo335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 06:57 PM   #21
Ian///M
Major General
 
Ian///M's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: AU

Posts: 6,247
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobs View Post
Are you N55 ?

As mentioned above - if you are running the older DME, then I understand that there is a compatability issue between that and the Procede.

Pre DME upgrade, I only had to stomp on it to trigger a limp mode

Since the new Rev installed - zero issues ( touch wood ). Been close to 12 months though - so hopefully problem solved
+1
Procede with newer DME give more power too on N55's
__________________
BMW 1M VO - Cobb + PTF e-Tune, Akrapovic wireless, MadDad mids, ETS 5" FMIC, ER CP, TurboSmart PB DV's, SSK, CDV, OCC, AWRON Gauge, Hankook RS-3's, Vorshlag Camber plates
Ian///M is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2013, 07:25 PM   #22
Harlequin
Brigadier General
 
Harlequin's Avatar
 
Drives: ///M Coupé (VO)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Brisbane, Australia BMW Club QLD Member

Posts: 3,459
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
I know this gets discussed over and over again but how do you guys get BMW to install the newer DME software?

Every time I go there they tell me that it doesn't have any updates available but my car is a Sept 2010 build and it's had no updates since I bought it...
__________________
Harlequin is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST