BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-01-2013, 12:13 PM   #1
white08135i
Lieutenant
 
white08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 08e90335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norcal

Posts: 557
iTrader: (10)

Electrical system malfunction

08 135i Cluster went crazy all needles dropped then back to normal, the lights came on for a few seconds (abs brake etc) then back to normal. Navi displayed electrical system malfunction.

Just checked the battery the glass is black an supposed to be green? Any clues if low battery could cause this.
white08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 12:34 PM   #2
rking117
Major
 
Drives: Z4 3.0i & 320i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central Florida

Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (0)

Yes it can and will
__________________
Enjoying an E89 Z4, F30 320i and Fiat Pop 500 //
E85 Z4 (sold), E82 128i (sold)
rking117 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 12:52 PM   #3
white08135i
Lieutenant
 
white08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 08e90335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norcal

Posts: 557
iTrader: (10)

Also when the car was in the garage for a few weeks when I got in battery light came on. If I use a battery from sane car do I need to code it?
white08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 04:39 PM   #4
wolfe
Lieutenant
 
wolfe's Avatar
 
Drives: 128i M-Sport / 944 Turbo S
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 491
iTrader: (1)

Pretty sure you do have to code it. The car charges the battery differently depending on the battery type & how new it is, or something like that. So coding it for the correct type and in-service date was important.

At least that's what I remember from reading about it.
wolfe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2013, 08:47 PM   #5
white08135i
Lieutenant
 
white08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 08e90335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Norcal

Posts: 557
iTrader: (10)

forgot to mention that my tpms light was on as well so today took the car to private shop he couldnt scan the tpm system. so i got back to my shop and checked out where the tpm system is and noticed it was filled up with water

got another tire pressure monitor (RDC) and tpms light is gone now and no more cluster tweeking out, yeay im happy

the only other problem now is to code the passive go module, that got damaged by the water as well and now my comfort access doesnt function. any coders around the 916 area? or maybe someone could guide me how to code it? thanks in advance.
white08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST