BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2014, 03:05 AM   #1
BEAM3R
Private
 
BEAM3R's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sydney

Posts: 67
iTrader: (1)

Making Akra open on start-up.

Hey guys,

Does anyone know of there is a way to do this - making the wireless Akrapovic valve switch to open on start-up? I'm sick of opening the ashtray to press the button every time I start my car. It also sounds better when it kicks over already on loud mode (doing so by turning ACC on, then pressing the button first before starting the car).

Any ideas or help would be great! Cheers!

Julian.
BEAM3R is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2014, 04:01 AM   #2
1'M Blue
Captain
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: OM

Posts: 643
iTrader: (0)

I think you'll have to manually remove the valves ..
1'M Blue is offline   Oman
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2014, 07:18 AM   #3
Artemis
Brigadier General
 
Artemis's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M (VO)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium

Posts: 3,236
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAM3R View Post
I'm sick of opening the ashtray to press the button every time I start my car.
Seriously ? Then buckling the seat belt and pushing the start engine button must be tiresome too. C'mon, it's just a small gesture. Eventually keep the ashtray open. And if too tiresome, then remove the butterfly valve inside the pipe.
__________________
“For ’tis the mind that makes the body rich” (W. Shakespeare, The Taming of the Shrew, Act 4, Scene 3)
Artemis is offline   Belgium
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2014, 10:40 AM   #4
BEAM3R
Private
 
BEAM3R's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sydney

Posts: 67
iTrader: (1)

I know it's lazy , but I just wanted to see if it had been done before. I fitted mine myself and I wouldn't have a problem with modifying some wiring etc, but also happy to live with it lol. Thanks for the input
BEAM3R is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2014, 10:00 PM   #5
lightning
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 1M AW
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Singapore

Posts: 218
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAM3R View Post
I know it's lazy , but I just wanted to see if it had been done before. I fitted mine myself and I wouldn't have a problem with modifying some wiring etc, but also happy to live with it lol. Thanks for the input



bro switch off your DRLs. and when you start the car, switch off your headlights as well.

worked for me.
lightning is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2014, 04:28 AM   #6
BEAM3R
Private
 
BEAM3R's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sydney

Posts: 67
iTrader: (1)

Mine is hooked up to straight 12V, not the tail lamp.
BEAM3R is online now   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2014, 01:46 PM   #7
rad doc
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 1M AW loaded
Join Date: May 2011
Location: texas

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

Related question, if you get the slip on without the remote valve can you manually remove the valve so its always open?
rad doc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2014, 07:12 PM   #8
Mdawood
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: vo 1m
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida

Posts: 373
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rad doc
Related question, if you get the slip on without the remote valve can you manually remove the valve so its always open?
U can by grinding off the cap on the blocked end. There are a few tack welds holding it on. Maybe 5 minutes to do. I did that to mine and I love it.
Mdawood is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 11:48 AM   #9
Artemis
Brigadier General
 
Artemis's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M (VO)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium

Posts: 3,236
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdawood View Post
U can by grinding off the cap on the blocked end. There are a few tack welds holding it on. Maybe 5 minutes to do. I did that to mine and I love it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rad doc View Post
Related question, if you get the slip on without the remote valve can you manually remove the valve so its always open?
See: http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=23
__________________
“For ’tis the mind that makes the body rich” (W. Shakespeare, The Taming of the Shrew, Act 4, Scene 3)
Artemis is offline   Belgium
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 06:33 PM   #10
rad doc
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 1M AW loaded
Join Date: May 2011
Location: texas

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

Thx, new I read that somewhere but couldn't find it.
rad doc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2014, 12:56 AM   #11
yulook
Second Lieutenant
 
yulook's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Earth

Posts: 213
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAM3R View Post
Hey guys,

Does anyone know of there is a way to do this - making the wireless Akrapovic valve switch to open on start-up? I'm sick of opening the ashtray to press the button every time I start my car. It also sounds better when it kicks over already on loud mode (doing so by turning ACC on, then pressing the button first before starting the car).

Any ideas or help would be great! Cheers!

Julian.
leave the ashtray open lol
yulook is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2014, 01:32 AM   #12
JWC
New Member
 
JWC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 F10 M5
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orange County/Taiwan

Posts: 711
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2011 BMW 1M  [0.00]
2014 BMW M5  [2.75]
2011 Porsche GT3  [3.50]
I just installed the Macht Schnell N54 DP with N54 mid, with Akra slip on. And I found out it is kind quiet, so I did grind off the cap on the blocked end. And it sounds sexy now. Need to drive it few days to see if I need the Berk mid pipe or N55 mid pipe.
__________________
CYC Group LLC
www.cycgroupllc.com
JWC is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2014, 06:28 PM   #13
carchrism5
Major
 
carchrism5's Avatar
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CT

Posts: 1,200
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to carchrism5
One thing you can do to make it easier is to actually open up the remote, wire it into the car's electrical system and then use a very nice stainless steel switch and it will look good and easy control. I know someone who did this in a 458 with the Capristo system so I'm assuming this remote could be wired the same way.
carchrism5 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST