BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-27-2016, 02:29 AM   #89
Spectral
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: MY10 135i SBM
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

My battery is a bit iffy, it shuts down the radio after about 3 mins after stopping engine with a yellow battery light on the dash. I'm going for the charger option personally haha

This has been a good thread and I've appreciated opinions and thoughts from all angles.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 04:14 AM   #90
pepper135I
First Lieutenant
pepper135I's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
366
Posts

Drives: N54 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego & Norcal

iTrader: (1)

Sorry to revive an old thread but out of curiosity what year is your 1er? I have a April build 09 and the cable you linked says it only works up too 2008 bmws. Wondering if you have an 08 or 09+. Not trying to spent $100 on a BMW INPA / Ediabas K+DCAN when a lot of people are using the cable you linked below for less than $25 shipped . Please let me know if you think it'll work for my car .

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
If you guys are after a cable for mhd flashing, I got this one and it works fine (make sure you get one with a green board)

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/271621954...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

OTG cable here

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/190757590...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

and android tablet from here

http://www.officeworks.com.au/shop/o...blet-syla7tab2

you can also use the android jb4 software on this tablet for logging with the bms usb cable connected to the otg cable or via the Bluetooth adapter rev3

A nice protective cover here with a nice magnetic screen cover

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/171977107285

With tuning these guys have helped me heaps getting my car right

If you want local tuning talk to JD75 aka justin@advan

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/member.php?u=108751

If you are experienced home tuner and know how to do your own logs, read logs and do fine adjustments talk to Trebila

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/member.php?u=206175

Before any flashing make sure you have a charger, these are the best and on special atm on ebay

http://www.ctek.com/au/en



Make sure your jb4 (if running one) is always

on Map 0 before flashing or it will corrupt your dme.


.
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 11:32 AM   #91
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

I'm using it on a 2012 Bmw 1m
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 12:50 PM   #92
pepper135I
First Lieutenant
pepper135I's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
366
Posts

Drives: N54 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego & Norcal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
I'm using it on a 2012 Bmw 1m
Thanks boss. Looks like good news for me and should work !
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 03:41 PM   #93
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

There is a fix for people with the white boards to get your cable working I haven't tested it myself but other people say it works

I have the files to do it just haven't got a non working cable to try and see if the fix
works if someone in Sydney has one that doesn't work I would love to borrow it and
see if I can fix them and do a full write up

Any volunteers are willing to give me a non working cable ?

Last edited by martymil; 02-02-2016 at 06:28 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 11:07 PM   #94
pepper135I
First Lieutenant
pepper135I's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
366
Posts

Drives: N54 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego & Norcal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
There is a fix for people with the white boards to get your cable working I haven't tested it myself but other people say it works

I have the files to do it just haven't got a non working cable to try and see if the fix
works if someone in Sydney has one that doesn't work I would love to borrow it and
see if I can fix them and do a full write up

Any volunteers are willing to give me a non working cable ?
man I'll be bummed if I get a white board one.. Only reason I purchased was cause all pictures showed a green circuit board behind the clear plastic plug.

Last edited by pepper135I; 02-01-2016 at 11:14 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 11:12 PM   #95
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

If you get the one from the link provided you won't have any problems as far as I know
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2016, 11:14 PM   #96
pepper135I
First Lieutenant
pepper135I's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
366
Posts

Drives: N54 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego & Norcal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
If you get the one from the link provided you won't have any problems as far as I know
Did you have too install any drivers? I see your link comes with a CD but I am going to use this on an andriod tablet(no cd drive) ? If mines a white board I'll just send you it and try buying a new one. Should be here next week and I'll know status of it working .
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2016, 01:35 AM   #97
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

on an android tablet from the link provided you don't have to install any drivers, its
all plug and play

Everything works straight out of the box

The only software you have to download is the MHD software and pay for the licence to use it.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2016, 05:42 AM   #98
dh58
Major
Australia
76
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bunker in Sydney

iTrader: (1)

I have the white one.. Also willing to try this method out and see if it works..
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2016, 06:30 AM   #99
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Pm sent
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2016, 02:21 PM   #100
Alexgrand
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: X5 E70 3.0D
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Moscow Russia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
There is a fix for people with the white boards to get your cable working I haven't tested it myself but other people say it works

I have the files to do it just haven't got a non working cable to try and see if the fix
works if someone in Sydney has one that doesn't work I would love to borrow it and
see if I can fix them and do a full write up

Any volunteers are willing to give me a non working cable ?
I wish I could give it to you , but I'm in Moscow - 36 hours flight with 2 stops ))
Could you send me files and instruction in pm?!
I promise I would share test results asap!!!
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2016, 04:53 PM   #101
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Here you go, these are untested by me.

I hold no responsibility if something goes wrong.

Use at your own risk

I cant give instructions how to do it as I haven't done one yet

The are some jpg's in the download that show you how to do it.

http://osefactory.com/tools/k+dcan/dcan_Tools.rar





.

Last edited by martymil; 02-06-2016 at 10:38 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2016, 04:03 AM   #102
Alexgrand
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: X5 E70 3.0D
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Moscow Russia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
Here you go, these are untested by me.

I hold no responsibility if something goes wrong.

Use at your own risk

I cant give instructions how to do it as I haven't done one yet

The are some jpg's in the download that show you how to do it.

http://osefactory.com/tools/k+dcan/dcan_Tools.rar





.
Thanks. Actually, I've had this soft. Sometimes it helps with WORKING cables . Unfortunately, most white board cables hv deeper problem - in order to make it work, Almtel chip must be re-flashed. (Like BIOS on motherboards).
Chineese guys often flash it with wrong parameters. (frequency and divider as I remember).
In order to flash - you need programmer and some knowlwdge - basically google helps..
Actually, it's easier to buy new one (if U hv not done it before)..
Basically, it COULD BE possible to flash right paramenters without programmer - so special utility from manufacture needed . The problem is that in order to flash - you hv to set +5V at the PIN .
This cable probably lacks this feature (erase and put flash in writeable state).

Thank you anyway.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2016, 11:07 PM   #103
pepper135I
First Lieutenant
pepper135I's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
366
Posts

Drives: N54 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego & Norcal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil View Post
on an android tablet from the link provided you don't have to install any drivers, its
all plug and play

Everything works straight out of the box

The only software you have to download is the MHD software and pay for the licence to use it.
Arrived from LA last week. Just opened up the package. Clear obd2 with green motherboard behind the clear plastic, looks like I lucked out !
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2016, 11:50 PM   #104
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

So it works right ?
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2016, 02:58 AM   #105
Spectral
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: MY10 135i SBM
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Brisbane

iTrader: (0)

I still have dramas with mine. Even with charger connected the OBD port shuts down about 2-3mins into a read. The light goes off the cable and the app just sits there. Tried on 2 android devices same issue. Green board cable from the first post and the otg cable from the first link as well

I can't win with this
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2016, 04:06 AM   #106
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

What android device ?
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2016, 06:00 AM   #107
335i-boy
Lieutenant
11
Rep
454
Posts

Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Marty for compiling the "parts list" to use with MHD. Got the Lenovo tablet today and was just about to pay for the cables and cover on eBay when I decided to check the thread again.

Spectral can you let us know what device(s) you are using that didn't work with the dcan cable.
__________________
2008 E92 335i M-Sport | Sapphire Black | Sunroof | Creme Beige | Poplar Grey | Logic 7 | 6AT | 19" AG M359's | Michelin PSS | LUX V3 | COBB | E85 | Steve AZ Walbro inline | Vishnu DCI | BMS CP | AR Design Catless DP's | Forge DV's | Helix IC | (Stock Cat. back) |
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2016, 09:07 PM   #108
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectral View Post
I still have dramas with mine. Even with charger connected the OBD port shuts down about 2-3mins into a read. The light goes off the cable and the app just sits there. Tried on 2 android devices same issue. Green board cable from the first post and the otg cable from the first link as well

I can't win with this
You must have a dodgy battery or the charger is not strong enough.

Make sure you turn everything off

Lights, stereo is on mute, navigation is turned off.

Make sure your battery is fully charged.

Turn your charger off and wait 30 sec, then turn back on again

Try to do a read when the charger is on bulk charge.


I ordered 3 of those cables and they all work on the Lenovo tablet

JD75 is using one on his Samsung phone

On the Lenovo tablet the read takes less than 10 seconds.

There must be something wrong with the phones your using.

Last edited by martymil; 02-17-2016 at 09:14 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2016, 09:15 PM   #109
martymil
Banned
Australia
355
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i-boy View Post
Thanks Marty for compiling the "parts list" to use with MHD. Got the Lenovo tablet today and was just about to pay for the cables and cover on eBay when I decided to check the thread again.

Spectral can you let us know what device(s) you are using that didn't work with the dcan cable.
are you in Sydney ?
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2016, 10:43 PM   #110
335i-boy
Lieutenant
11
Rep
454
Posts

Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martymil
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335i-boy View Post
Thanks Marty for compiling the "parts list" to use with MHD. Got the Lenovo tablet today and was just about to pay for the cables and cover on eBay when I decided to check the thread again.

Spectral can you let us know what device(s) you are using that didn't work with the dcan cable.
are you in Sydney ?
No, but I am in Sydney regularly with the car.
__________________
2008 E92 335i M-Sport | Sapphire Black | Sunroof | Creme Beige | Poplar Grey | Logic 7 | 6AT | 19" AG M359's | Michelin PSS | LUX V3 | COBB | E85 | Steve AZ Walbro inline | Vishnu DCI | BMS CP | AR Design Catless DP's | Forge DV's | Helix IC | (Stock Cat. back) |
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST