BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read




 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-30-2020, 12:09 PM   #1
Rekraps
USMA 81
United_States
111
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: Own two 1M's, VO total OEM
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Need some TPMS advice

Guys, low tire pressure light on front right wheel came on. Tire pressure is fine at 35 LBS. Could it be a faulty TPMS?

Ideas? Experience this?
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2020, 02:00 PM   #2
nachob
Brigadier General
United_States
1887
Rep
4,074
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M, 2003 330i ZHP
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekraps View Post
Guys, low tire pressure light on front right wheel came on. Tire pressure is fine at 35 LBS. Could it be a faulty TPMS?

Ideas? Experience this?

It's not just pressure, pressure differential can set it off. What are there other 3 tires at. I think it's about a 2psi differential. If all four are at 35 psi and you are sure your tire gauge is correct, then yes, bad monitor. I believe they have battery that last about 7-10 years. Next summer will be 10 years.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 07:00 AM   #3
TBURKE555
Private
TBURKE555's Avatar
21
Rep
73
Posts

Drives: 2011 1 Series M Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Baltic Ct

iTrader: (0)

You can take the car to a tire shop not the BMW dealer. They have a tester that will tell you if the sensor is bad. Take less than a minute to check all 4 wheels.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 08:12 AM   #4
Rekraps
USMA 81
United_States
111
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: Own two 1M's, VO total OEM
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the advice. Last thing I wanted to do was go to the dealer.

Appreciate it.
Appreciate 1
nachob1887.00

      08-31-2020, 10:36 AM   #5
ayao
Thread killer
482
Rep
1,759
Posts

Drives: 1M
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CA

iTrader: (2)

https://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1752258
No affiliation.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 04:41 PM   #6
nachob
Brigadier General
United_States
1887
Rep
4,074
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M, 2003 330i ZHP
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayao View Post
Good deal. Our are BERU but it looks like HUF and Beru are the same now?
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 10:41 PM   #7
champignon
Disrupter
champignon's Avatar
United_States
1468
Rep
2,411
Posts

Drives: 1M;Z3M Cp;135is Vert, 18 MG M2
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Idaho

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nachob View Post
Good deal. Our are BERU but it looks like HUF and Beru are the same now?
Don't our (originally) Canadian 1Ms use the other system, that doesn't have sensors in each tire? We shouldn't need to deal with TPMS sensors, ever, because our cars should not have been shipped with them in the first place.
__________________
Disappointing People for Two Centuries; 3 Pedal Fanatic
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 01:41 AM   #8
nachob
Brigadier General
United_States
1887
Rep
4,074
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M, 2003 330i ZHP
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by champignon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by nachob View Post
Good deal. Our are BERU but it looks like HUF and Beru are the same now?
Don't our (originally) Canadian 1Ms use the other system, that doesn't have sensors in each tire? We shouldn't need to deal with TPMS sensors, ever, because our cars should not have been shipped with them in the first place.
Yes ours don't have them and I like it too. Especially since I have two sets of wheels. : )
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 09:45 AM   #9
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
235
Rep
1,639
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nachob View Post
Yes ours don't have them and I like it too. Especially since I have two sets of wheels. : )
Since i took my US car back home to the EU, that reminds me not to renew the TPMS sensors once batteries run out and switch to the build-in tire pressure monitoring software option; much less hassle and equivalent functionality.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 12:14 PM   #10
nachob
Brigadier General
United_States
1887
Rep
4,074
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M, 2003 330i ZHP
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeghie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by nachob View Post
Yes ours don't have them and I like it too. Especially since I have two sets of wheels. : )
Since i took my US car back home to the EU, that reminds me not to renew the TPMS sensors once batteries run out and switch to the build-in tire pressure monitoring software option; much less hassle and equivalent functionality.
I agree. The older system is nice in that you can just change wheels without buying more TPMS sensors or worrying about batteries etc. It works reasonably well too.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 08:13 PM   #11
UN1CORM
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: AW3 1M
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Old Town Rd

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeghie View Post
Since i took my US car back home to the EU, that reminds me not to renew the TPMS sensors once batteries run out and switch to the build-in tire pressure monitoring software option; much less hassle and equivalent functionality.
Is this something that can be coded into US cars?
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 08:23 PM   #12
ShocknAwe
1Addict
ShocknAwe's Avatar
United_States
2692
Rep
7,318
Posts

Drives: E82 Mutt
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston

iTrader: (22)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UN1CORM View Post
Is this something that can be coded into US cars?
Yes. It's an option in the Protool app. Worked well for me.
__________________
2010 135i 6MT Jet Black
N54/3 Converted ///Mutt | BUILD THREAD | GARAGE SALE
Appreciate 1
eeghie234.50

      09-02-2020, 12:09 PM   #13
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
235
Rep
1,639
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UN1CORM View Post
Is this something that can be coded into US cars?
In NCS-Experten remove $2VB from vehicle option list and code whole car (or all related modules separately). It’s splitting hairs, but the TPMS option is coded in from factory in US cars. If you remove the US specific tyre pressure monitoring, the car systems default the RDC (Reifendruck Control) that uses the DSC sensors to sense speeddifferences between the wheels that originate from loss of tyre pressure.

PS from Nov 2014, even EU BMWs have TMPS with active rim sensors standard for the drivers comfort, and provides realtime tire pressure and temperature information.

Last edited by eeghie; 09-02-2020 at 12:29 PM..
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2020, 12:27 PM   #14
eeghie
Kind of a big deal
235
Rep
1,639
Posts

Drives: an 1M not often enough
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: between Unlimited and Hard to Get

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShocknAwe View Post
Yes. It's an option in the Protool app. Worked well for me.
Just looked into this protool app and really like its specifications. NCSExperten still feels like iím fiddling with my car, whereas this app is much more confidence inspiring. Thx for posting.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST