BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

08-30-2021, 06:37 PM   #1
Phloozy
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW 128

Removing Interior Wires

I am getting my car gutted and ready for a cage in the off season and want to start tackling the interior wiring harnesses. I am going to be removing all the speakers and airbags so I would like to remove all the wires along with them. This is my first time doing something like this and I am scared I might remove something important.

Has anyone done this before and have any tips? Is there anything I should make sure I dont remove that isnt obvious?
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2021, 08:26 AM   #2
fe1rx
Captain
Rep
Drives: 135i, 328i, Cayman S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phloozy View Post
I am getting my car gutted and ready for a cage in the off season and want to start tackling the interior wiring harnesses. I am going to be removing all the speakers and airbags so I would like to remove all the wires along with them. This is my first time doing something like this and I am scared I might remove something important.

Has anyone done this before and have any tips? Is there anything I should make sure I dont remove that isnt obvious?
There is a lot that can go wrong when you start removing wires. There is a lot of interconnectedness in our cars that is not self apparent. At the very least, get a complete set of wiring diagrams and make sure you fully understand them before you remove any wire. You can get wiring diagrams from the manual described in this post:

https://www.1addicts.com/forums/show...0&postcount=69

Wiring diagrams from generic sources like this can only be trusted 95%, and your actual installed options make a difference in which diagram applies (which is not always self-apparent). But they are a very good start.