BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

07-25-2012, 03:28 PM   #1
N54Fiend
Professional idiot
Rep
Drives: 2012 335is

Turbo Replacement Finally!

Just wanted to let you guys know!..

Ive been fighting BMW for like 6 months now to replace my turbos from the horrible wastegate rattle. I had it in one shop for 3 weeks actually and they replaced the actuators and still was rattling away and they told me I was SOL and that I needed new turbos. So then I was left with my car still showing me reduced power light every day. So I sent an email over to the service manager at my regular dealership that had denied me several times showing them about 20 pictures of the lights on the dash. He told me to come on in and he'd get me on a test ride with the shop foreman. So I head over, and he was able to get in the car with me and produce the light that I always get.

He told me that I'd have to pay the $135 diagnostic fee but if the issue was covered they wouldnt charge me for it. So I left.. The shop mechanic texted me the next day and said "we found some loose hoses on the intake side of your car. Has anybody else worked on your car since us in April?" I said yes, I took it to Braman and they had it for 3 weeks but ensured that only BMW had been under my hood ever. So I get a call from them later in the day. The shop foreman, my service adviser, and the service manager all on speakerphone. The manager was speaking and he told me that the intake hoses were causing the reduced power light and the engine misfires. Then went on to ask me about the wastegates. He asked what Braman did because "if they replaced the actuators and adjusted them correctly, they wouldnt be clapping any more" I said I really dont know, they told me they did but never produced any paperwork to prove it. So he sent me off to get a copy of my paperwork and email it to him.