BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-08-2016, 03:10 AM   #155
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

I leave the door open, just don't open or close or play with anything once it starts
Appreciate 1
Dat Aus108.00

      09-08-2016, 03:13 AM   #156
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Ok. Well. Here goes nothing. Wish me luck.
Appreciate 1
NFB0915.00

      09-08-2016, 03:19 AM   #157
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Is it normal for it to take 80 minutes to backup the ECU?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 03:20 AM   #158
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

What year is the car ?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 03:21 AM   #159
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Early 2008.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 03:22 AM   #160
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Did it tell you what ecu it was ?

I've heard some take long but never seen it
Appreciate 1
Dat Aus108.00

      09-08-2016, 03:25 AM   #161
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Good test to see how it will cope with a flash lol
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 03:26 AM   #162
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

I don't think so.

Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 03:27 AM   #163
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

I also can't turn the angel eyes off. It doesn't matter if they're in the auto, off or on position. If the ignition is on, the angel eyes are on. Has me a bit worried.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 03:35 AM   #164
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Ok. I'm less worried now. It appears this is normal. I must just have really old software. I know it has never been updated to address the waste gate rattle.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1151731

On another note. Is 11.73 volts sufficient?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 04:36 AM   #165
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Nope you need it higher

After you finish the read give it a good charge or overnight it
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 04:38 AM   #166
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

I'll leave it on charge overnight and then do the flash in the morning.

At what voltage does the flash stop?
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 05:18 AM   #167
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Not sure depends on what is set in the dme
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 05:22 AM   #168
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Hmmm alright. I noticed that it didn't drop at all in the 80 odd minutes that it took to backup the stock map. So I think the charger I have is good enough to keep her going for the 40 minutes the flash will take. If all else fails, I'll hook up he Hilux and just keep it running while I do it.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 07:20 PM   #169
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Ok. Just finished flashing it. I'm letting it warm up at the moment and I'll take her for a drive soon.

Marty, I can't thank you enough for all your help and advice. It was my first time doing something like this and knowing the consequences of getting it wrong made it a bit daunting. So, thank you!
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2016, 07:51 PM   #170
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

Not a problem
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2016, 01:21 AM   #171
NFB091
Private First Class
NFB091's Avatar
Australia
5
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: Bmw 1M VO
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (0)

Question

Hey everyone, just wondering when we log , where does it save to?
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2016, 05:28 AM   #172
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

it will be in one of the folders

I never used the feature of mhd, I use the jb4 for logging

Connect it to your pc and browse the mhd folders
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2016, 10:47 AM   #173
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Is it usual for the MHD to mess with service and oil lights? Before doing the flash, I had recently checked my oil and it said it was on the low side. After doing the flash, the oil level indicator is saying it's at maximum.

I was also 1200 km away from the next service and it's now saying that it's due.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2016, 11:50 AM   #174
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

I literally done a few hundred of these flashes and never had any problems like you describing, it could be because your software in your dme was so old before you updated it

Now you are running the latest firmware that's been tricked up

Do your service and keep an eye on it, you might need to update all your systems through a dealer or someone with access to an autologic and update the whole car
Appreciate 1
Dat Aus108.00

      09-09-2016, 05:33 PM   #175
martymil
Banned
Australia
356
Rep
2,187
Posts

Drives: Garage is to big to list.
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (8)

The easiest way is someone like willall racing in Adelaide he should be able to help you out

I suggest flashing back to stock, update your entire car including the subsystems

and when you get it back backup your dme and reflash

This is the anal ocd way of doing things, or I call it my way.

like as other people have pointed out you don't have to do things my way but at least
I know my way works 100% every time and if it doesn't you have other underlying issues.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2016, 06:32 PM   #176
Dat Aus
First Lieutenant
108
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: '08 135i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Adelaide

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, Marty. I've contacted MHD via their Facebook page to see what they say about it. I'm not so concerned about the service light but it's a worry that it's saying my oil level is full when it is actually getting low.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST