BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-20-2018, 01:48 AM   #45
phish
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (0)

Hi, after following this guide https://www.1addicts.com/forums/show....php?t=1338304 (option #5) to modify VO in order to change from a lead acid to AGM battery I received the following error after the very last step after clicking F1 Code Car in NCS expert. Every step before this last one worked fine.

This is from my NCSExpert error log:

[18:31:57.953] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2000 Error LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_E65R.IPS/IPO) CDHapiResultText 1
[18:31:57.953] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] Fehler in EDIABAS oder in SG-Beschreibungsdatei SYS-0008: Job nicht gefunden RDCKWP

[18:31:58.114] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2000 Error COAPI2.CPP coapiRunCabd 6
[18:31:58.114] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] Fehler in EDIABAS oder in SG-Beschreibungsdatei CODIERINDEX_LESEN

[18:31:58.156] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2000 Error COAPI.CPP coapiReadCodierIndexFromSg 5
[18:31:58.156] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] Fehler in EDIABAS oder in SG-Beschreibungsdatei CODIERINDEX_LESEN: A_E65R

[18:32:05.619] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2020 Error LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_E65DR.IPS/IPO) CDHapiResultText 1
[18:32:05.619] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] SG antwortet nicht IFH-0009: SG nicht angeschlossen oder meldet sich nicht ULF2_HI

[18:32:05.762] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2020 Error COAPI2.CPP coapiRunCabd 6
[18:32:05.762] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] SG antwortet nicht CODIERDATEN_LESEN

================================================== ==============================(9)

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by phish; 04-20-2018 at 06:06 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2018, 10:55 AM   #46
bbnks2
Major
493
Rep
1,092
Posts

Drives: 135i N55
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by phish View Post
Hi, after following this guide https://www.1addicts.com/forums/show....php?t=1338304 (option #5) to modify VO in order to change from a lead acid to AGM battery I received the following error after the very last step after clicking F1 Code Car in NCS expert. Every step before this last one worked fine.

This is from my NCSExpert error log:

[18:31:57.953] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2000 Error LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_E65R.IPS/IPO) CDHapiResultText 1
[18:31:57.953] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] Fehler in EDIABAS oder in SG-Beschreibungsdatei SYS-0008: Job nicht gefunden RDCKWP

[18:31:58.114] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2000 Error COAPI2.CPP coapiRunCabd 6
[18:31:58.114] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] Fehler in EDIABAS oder in SG-Beschreibungsdatei CODIERINDEX_LESEN

[18:31:58.156] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2000 Error COAPI.CPP coapiReadCodierIndexFromSg 5
[18:31:58.156] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] Fehler in EDIABAS oder in SG-Beschreibungsdatei CODIERINDEX_LESEN: A_E65R

[18:32:05.619] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2020 Error LFCDHDIA.CPP (A_E65DR.IPS/IPO) CDHapiResultText 1
[18:32:05.619] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] SG antwortet nicht IFH-0009: SG nicht angeschlossen oder meldet sich nicht ULF2_HI

[18:32:05.762] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] 2020 Error COAPI2.CPP coapiRunCabd 6
[18:32:05.762] [2018-04-19] [SERIE] SG antwortet nicht CODIERDATEN_LESEN

================================================== ==============================(9)

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.
Might have something to do with the DATEN files used?

Instead of process entire car you can process the 2 modules that have been identified as being affected:

"Then I didn't want to process the whole car since I saw some people got problems with that.

So I did:
- SG_CODIEREN > CAS
- SG_CODIEREN > NFRM "
__________________
135i: E30 map by TwistedTuning, VRSF DP, Kerscher +15mm fenders, Kosei K8R 255/40/17, M3 control arms, UUC trans mounts, DV+, Whiteline RSFB, 5" intercooler, Charge Pipe, PC925 (23lb), UUC SSK, YCW Coilovers 6k/16k, Monroe shock mounts, Diff lockdown, Catch Can, N20 TMAP, 335is clutch, SMFW, 034 engine mounts, M3 Steering rack
Appreciate 0
      04-28-2018, 02:19 AM   #47
phish
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 328i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (0)

Just as a follow-up I believe the issue was that I was using a profile with manipulation enabled (as the guide incorrectly stated).

I used the default profile and reset the CAS and NFRM modules and then the battery type that I changed showed up properly.

So no need to process car and make sure you have manipulation disabled when resetting the modules.

I also updated my DATEN files before I did all this but not sure if I needed that or not.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2018, 10:57 AM   #48
bbnks2
Major
493
Rep
1,092
Posts

Drives: 135i N55
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by phish View Post
Just as a follow-up I believe the issue was that I was using a profile with manipulation enabled (as the guide incorrectly stated).

I used the default profile and reset the CAS and NFRM modules and then the battery type that I changed showed up properly.

So no need to process car and make sure you have manipulation disabled when resetting the modules.

I also updated my DATEN files before I did all this but not sure if I needed that or not.
Manipulation must be enabled in order to change coding manually. That is where it is stated.
__________________
135i: E30 map by TwistedTuning, VRSF DP, Kerscher +15mm fenders, Kosei K8R 255/40/17, M3 control arms, UUC trans mounts, DV+, Whiteline RSFB, 5" intercooler, Charge Pipe, PC925 (23lb), UUC SSK, YCW Coilovers 6k/16k, Monroe shock mounts, Diff lockdown, Catch Can, N20 TMAP, 335is clutch, SMFW, 034 engine mounts, M3 Steering rack
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2018, 10:59 PM   #49
JHZR2
Captain
37
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: 91 E30, 11 135i cv
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

If I were to buy an ICOM and pay the $30 for a day's access to BMW OSS, I'd essentially get option 5, right?

Downside Is what? Having to pay a fee to do anything (e.g. Brake fluid flush abs activation)? The $$$ icom unit (assuming I get a genuine one)?

Upside is that I could diagnose, code and update anything and everything on the car, and implement any repairs for any items, right?

I'm somewhat hesitant personally to do a whole lot via unofficial processes, especially since I'd be booting off a mac and haven't kept up with windows sw in many years.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2018, 09:26 AM   #50
bNks334
Major
bNks334's Avatar
315
Rep
1,008
Posts

Drives: '11 135i (N55)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHZR2 View Post
If I were to buy an ICOM and pay the $30 for a day's access to BMW OSS, I'd essentially get option 5, right?

Downside Is what? Having to pay a fee to do anything (e.g. Brake fluid flush abs activation)? The $$$ icom unit (assuming I get a genuine one)?

Upside is that I could diagnose, code and update anything and everything on the car, and implement any repairs for any items, right?

I'm somewhat hesitant personally to do a whole lot via unofficial processes, especially since I'd be booting off a mac and haven't kept up with windows sw in many years.

Thanks!
From what I understand, BMWTools is legitimate freeware which is distributed from BMW Group. ISTA-D (Rheingold) and ISTA-P are NOT. These programs are what dealer techs use so that they don't actually need any knowledge to diagnose and fix a car lol. Commercial shops lease access to these systems like you suggest doing... The versions available on the internet are not for commercial use or distribution. They have been "hacked" to work offline.

I have not bothered to check if making battery setting changes in ISTA actually changes the $VO to match... That is something maybe someone else can confirm. My guess is that if you use an offline version of ISTA, or, you make manual edits to your $VO using winkfp, then BMWs database won't match. It would require quiet a bit of investigative effort on the dealers part to recognize that your current vehicle order ($VO) does not match how the car came off the factory floor.

With that being said, why would the dealer even care? The only thing I can think of is if you are trying to claim warranty work for something and the dealer investigates to find that you manually coded something that caused the problem. However, this is highly unlikely. Further, I've yet to come across any dealer/tech that even has this level of knowledge to come to this conclusion.

ISTA has native K-DCAN support. An actual ICOM connection is only really needed if you're programming the software of a module. That is NOT what is being done here and programming is almost NEVER required for ANYTHING. Not even the dealer bothers updating your programming unless you complain about a specific driveability issue that a software update specifically addresses (like stalling with DCT).

What we are doing here is editing some settings (variables in the software). Cars with iDrive can change some window and light settings without even needing to load up a program to do it... Also, I have programmed every module in my car using a K-DCAN cable (even my media module which took almost 20 hours to complete). It is not advisable though as there is a high risk of data interruption. Using a virtual machine is not an issue for processing coding changes but it does significantly increase the chances of failure of programming with a K-DCAN cable and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you don't bother trying it.

Last edited by bNks334; 05-07-2018 at 09:34 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2018, 06:41 PM   #51
SamN
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M-Sport, Man
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Just purchased new 850a CCA AGM battery that does not exhibit an Ah rating. Given that, what Ah setting should be used to register the battery? 2012 135i manual US, Carly gen 2 OBD reader, IOS software. Thx!
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2018, 10:49 PM   #52
JHZR2
Captain
37
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: 91 E30, 11 135i cv
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamN View Post
Just purchased new 850a CCA AGM battery that does not exhibit an Ah rating. Given that, what Ah setting should be used to register the battery? 2012 135i manual US, Carly gen 2 OBD reader, IOS software. Thx!
Im assuming you got an H8/group 49? If so, they are generally 90-92Ah.

If it is a different group size, then there is a different amount of lead and that number will differ.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2018, 04:15 AM   #53
SamN
New Member
0
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2012 135i M-Sport, Man
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHZR2 View Post
Im assuming you got an H8/group 49? If so, they are generally 90-92Ah.

If it is a different group size, then there is a different amount of lead and that number will differ.
Thx for info/help! No, H7. Rated 70 Ah.

Last edited by SamN; 06-20-2018 at 07:26 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2018, 08:15 PM   #54
jus2sikwitit
Private
United_States
6
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: e92 335i xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: new york

iTrader: (0)

Quick question...maybe a dumb one but ill ask anyways. If you register your battery once....and you completely disconnect the battery...do you have to keep registering the battery everytime it is completely disconnected (power and ground).
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2018, 11:09 AM   #55
kioneo
Second Lieutenant
kioneo's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
206
Posts

Drives: Montego Blue 2008 135i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jus2sikwitit View Post
Quick question...maybe a dumb one but ill ask anyways. If you register your battery once....and you completely disconnect the battery...do you have to keep registering the battery everytime it is completely disconnected (power and ground).
No. So long as you are putting the same battery back in (that is not putting back in a new battery).
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2018, 11:57 PM   #56
gjm120
Major
United_States
533
Rep
1,127
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I'm interested in coding a battery capacity change and learning how to do a little more.
Definitely don't want to delve into INPA etc so I'm thinking Rheingold ISTA+ is the way to go. These are really novice questions so please forgive me.
Is Rheingold standalone? Somewhere I got the impression it needs EDIABAS to run.

Does all other software such as MS Excel, Word, etc need to be off the machine to run Rheingold?

I see the software downloads priced anywhere from $11 to $112 to free (which scares me). What to look for if I decide to buy?

Maybe I should be asking all of this in the Coding Section on the E90 board, but, thought I'd try here first.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2018, 11:24 AM   #57
bbnks2
Major
493
Rep
1,092
Posts

Drives: 135i N55
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Maybe I should be asking all of this in the Coding Section on the E90 board, but, thought I'd try here first.
I've never bothered installing BMW tools on a standalone machine and I've never had issues. I think that is just fearmongering or past wisdoms before revisions were made to bring the software up to speed with modern operating systems.

You can get windows 10 versions of rheingold for free. Bimmer geeks offers a download link. It's a standalone program.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2018, 12:32 PM   #58
gjm120
Major
United_States
533
Rep
1,127
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbnks2 View Post
I've never bothered installing BMW tools on a standalone machine and I've never had issues. I think that is just fearmongering or past wisdoms before revisions were made to bring the software up to speed with modern operating systems.

You can get windows 10 versions of rheingold for free. Bimmer geeks offers a download link. It's a standalone program.
Thanks for the feedback.
I found that link. Haven't downloaded it yet but it seems to be ISTA/D. My understanding is that ISTA/D will register a battery but not code. For coding I think ISTA/P is needed?

I'm starting to wonder if the INPA suite isn't the easier way. After looking into it for awhile it doesn't seem as difficult as first glance. Do you know if it needs a standalone machine or will setting up a VM work well enough?
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2018, 01:30 PM   #59
kioneo
Second Lieutenant
kioneo's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
206
Posts

Drives: Montego Blue 2008 135i
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (2)

A VM is a great way to go. Just give it plenty of resources. The VM makes it easy to back up your install as well as move it from machine to machine.
Appreciate 1
gjm120533.00

      07-08-2018, 01:31 PM   #60
bNks334
Major
bNks334's Avatar
315
Rep
1,008
Posts

Drives: '11 135i (N55)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
Thanks for the feedback.
I found that link. Haven't downloaded it yet but it seems to be ISTA/D. My understanding is that ISTA/D will register a battery but not code. For coding I think ISTA/P is needed?

I'm starting to wonder if the INPA suite isn't the easier way. After looking into it for awhile it doesn't seem as difficult as first glance. Do you know if it needs a standalone machine or will setting up a VM work well enough?
Rheingold will change the battery type too. Ista-p is only for programming modules. That is not what we are doing. Think of Insta-p more like updating from service pack 1 to service pack 2... Or windows 8 to windows 10... All we are doing is changing a setting...

A virtual machine needs a 250gb solid state drive to host properly. It will be slow without it but useable. The virtual machine is easy but it really is useless. BMW tools takes 5 minutes to install to do this coding. Rheingold is also available. You can't program with the virtual machine (it will fail) so having all those programs is really just a waste. You need native running apps to program or data will drop!

Last edited by bNks334; 07-08-2018 at 07:33 PM. Reason: 2
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2018, 02:10 PM   #61
gjm120
Major
United_States
533
Rep
1,127
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bNks334 View Post
Rheingold will change the battery type too. Ista-p is only for programming modules. That is not what we are doing. think is Insta-p more like updating from service pack 1 to service pack 2... Or windows 8 to windows 10...
In your original write up under the section on using Rheingold you wrote
8) Rheingold then walks you through your options! You can simply register a new like-for-like battery, or you can change the battery capacity. Rheingold will prompt you to perform coding using ISTA-P!

From this and reading a bunch of differing opinions I came to my probably wrong conclusion.

Is it that you can change the capacity or type without changing the VO in ISTA/D and still have the correct charging regimen? If true, is the downside that if a dealer does some updates on your car it will revert back to the original battery capacity and type?
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2018, 07:38 PM   #62
bNks334
Major
bNks334's Avatar
315
Rep
1,008
Posts

Drives: '11 135i (N55)
Join Date: May 2014
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjm120 View Post
In your original write up under the section on using Rheingold you wrote
8) Rheingold then walks you through your options! You can simply register a new like-for-like battery, or you can change the battery capacity. Rheingold will prompt you to perform coding using ISTA-P!

From this and reading a bunch of differing opinions I came to my probably wrong conclusion.

Is it that you can change the capacity or type without changing the VO in ISTA/D and still have the correct charging regimen? If true, is the downside that if a dealer does some updates on your car it will revert back to the original battery capacity and type?
I may have been wrong in the write up. I think rheingold just brings you to a new tab/procedure... Not a different app. I also do not believe it changes the $vo so you'd be correct the setting would be set back to factory defaults with dealer programming. The dealer is not likely to provide any programming though... It takes a lot of time. The only thing they really do is update the DME when people have driveablity issues and that won't affect the battery coding.
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2018, 08:55 AM   #63
gjm120
Major
United_States
533
Rep
1,127
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bNks334 View Post
I may have been wrong in the write up. I think rheingold just brings you to a new tab/procedure... Not a different app. I also do not believe it changes the $vo so you'd be correct the setting would be set back to factory defaults with dealer programming. The dealer is not likely to provide any programming though... It takes a lot of time. The only thing they really do is update the DME when people have driveablity issues and that won't affect the battery coding.
Ok. I guess not updating the vo is not important as long as the charging profile is correct. And just remember to check it if the a shop does anything in the way of programming or coding.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2018, 02:13 PM   #64
gjm120
Major
United_States
533
Rep
1,127
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: East Texas

iTrader: (0)

I got BMW Std Tools loaded and coded a battery change in NCSExpert. Not too involved. Actually getting the software and cable driver all up and running was more difficult than changing the battery capacity.

WARNING: You can register a battery change in INPA a little too easily. When you hit register a battery change it is done. No taking you to another dialog box, no "are you sure" type warnings. It didn't matter for me as I only had 200km on the new battery, but if someone hit this with a much older battery it would be an issue.

Didn't change the VO but I've double checked and the system shows the 80Ah battery as I wanted.
__________________
E82 Non-Sport / Ver Red / Blk Boston L / BMWP Springs w/ Koni Yellows / M front control arms / AT / Sport seats & steering wheel + paddles / HK / Nav
Appreciate 1
bbnks2492.50

      08-15-2018, 07:40 AM   #65
Fantastipotamus
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2008 135i 6MT Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the info.

Small update, the Carly app has changed to $59.99 per year subscription based format on the iphone (for new purchasers). It does, however, offer access to ALL the items which were previously add-ons.

For now, it looks like the old version is still available in the App Store, but according to their migration page, only people who purchased before March will get lifetime access to the updated app. So, good news is that all you folks who didn’t want to shell out 13.99 for the coding add-on in the old app now have it for free.

Meanwhile.. I have access to it for a year!! ... ...
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2018, 05:00 PM   #66
SergeyB
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: X5 2011
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Israel

iTrader: (0)

Thank you for valuable information.
I think I have and interesting question that I hope could be answered here.
My original battery type was AGM. Two years ago I replaced a battery at official dealer to the regular one (white case). I ensured that they did the registration. Everything worked fine like engine start.
However I had a feeling of battery under charge which proved itself recently (discharge warning) when I leaved radio on without running engine while cleaning interior and closing/opening the doors perhaps preventing car from entering sleep. This was not too long like about 30 minutes.
I decided to check battery status and discovered that my regular battery is registered as AGM (capacity is the same).
What could be done in this case?
1) Code the correct type in relevant modules (with or without VO)?
2) Code the correct type with higher capacity with registration?

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
agm, battery, code, register, replacement

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST