BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read




 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-12-2011, 04:49 PM   #1
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

1M & Sirius Radio

Do any of you have Sirius radio on your 1M? Mine has H/K radio with no sat/nav. The dealer has my car right now and is having problems adding the feature. Yesterday they thought they needed to replace the radio and after trying that it still wouldn't take the flash. I have a 335 for a few days. Boy, does it feel slow in comparison to the 1M! Anyway, from what I gathered BMW made it so their cars do not come with Sirius activated so the dealerships do it after the sale. Thanks in advance!
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 04:54 PM   #2
rad doc
Lieutenant
205
Rep
500
Posts

Drives: 1M AW loaded
Join Date: May 2011
Location: texas

iTrader: (0)

I have the HK and all it took was the dealer to activate it which they did right before delivery. Mine has sat nav but not sure if that matters. You think the 335 is slow, try the 328 my dealer gave me!
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 05:07 PM   #3
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Thanks.
(and I'm by no means complaining about the 335)
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:08 PM   #4
Red135
La Flama Blanca
Red135's Avatar
22
Rep
1,545
Posts

Drives: 1-series
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abq, NM

iTrader: (1)

The 1M comes pre-wired for Sirius. You just need to add the sat radio module and have it activated. Same head unit.
__________________
AMS, Berk Technology, aFe, ER
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:19 PM   #5
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Easier said then done it seems.
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:33 PM   #6
TXmtrhed
First Lieutenant
TXmtrhed's Avatar
37
Rep
381
Posts

Drives: VO 1M
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Katy, TX

iTrader: (0)

I have the H/K radio with Sirius but no sat/nav. It too was activated before delivery but my CA has done this numerous times. Maybe it's user error on your dealer's part?

Speaking of the 335, I traded in a modded one with the Dinan Stage II engine tune, LSD and M3 suspension bits. It was fast but no where near the car that the 1M is. I don't miss it a bit.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:40 PM   #7
ThumpersM3
Private
ThumpersM3's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3M competition
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Hello all,
The Satellite radio is built into the head unit..Did you order Sat radio from the factory or are you having it enabled at the dealer? there are no seperate parts for this to happen..parts dept just order a enabling code and then technicians just hook up to a programming session and perform the retrofit.
If you have selected sat radio when you ordered, it's something you can do at home , the ESN# to your radio is in Sirius database and you'll get your 1 year free when you call it in (or do thru sirius website)

hope this helps
Ray
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:40 PM   #8
sjw985
Private
United_States
5
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: 2011 1M (BSM)
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

I have H/K with both sat/nav and the CA set it up in the lot before I drove off. No issues here but he did mention that they had been having some problems with Sirius activiations - not for technical reasons, but because some Sirius reps didn't seem to know or accept that new BMW sirius comes with a free year of service.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:45 PM   #9
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

They seem competent to me. I thought I remembered hearing about someone having problems with theirs but maybe I'm wrong. My bad luck I suppose.

Oh, and I bet no one here had a baby blue with beige interior 335. So pimp!
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 06:49 PM   #10
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Ray,
I didn't order it with the car because the dealer told me I couldn't and they would activate it when I got the car. I forgot all about it until recently and now they are having problems programming it to add the feature to the radio. I'm told it adds it to the list of options when you press audio.
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 07:16 PM   #11
MDORPHN
Colonel
260
Rep
2,911
Posts

Drives: AW 1M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wash, DC

iTrader: (0)

Dan -

I ordered it as an option. United BMW activated it -- or tried to -- when I was doing paperwork inside, but I realized on drive into Smokies that it wasn't working.

Called Sirius/XM and they sent another activation signal that worked.

Learned that cars needs to be on and within reach of signal (i.e., not underneath an overhang or in undergound garage), neither of which was the case when United arranged for the initial, unsuccessful activation.

Give me a call or pm if that is unclear.

Neil
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 07:22 PM   #12
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Neil! I sent that to my service advisor just now.
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 09:02 PM   #13
simon.kruger
New Member
1
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: BMW 1M Coupe AW
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDORPHN View Post
Dan -

I ordered it as an option. United BMW activated it -- or tried to -- when I was doing paperwork inside, but I realized on drive into Smokies that it wasn't working.

Called Sirius/XM and they sent another activation signal that worked.

Learned that cars needs to be on and within reach of signal (i.e., not underneath an overhang or in undergound garage), neither of which was the case when United arranged for the initial, unsuccessful activation.

Give me a call or pm if that is unclear.

Neil
Neil you are spot on. Global didn't activate mine and I had to do it myself with Sirius online. It took a couple of minutes to receive the signal but once it did it worked.

Dan I wish you all the best in getting this sorted out.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 09:04 PM   #14
ThumpersM3
Private
ThumpersM3's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3M competition
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Parker View Post
Ray,
I didn't order it with the car because the dealer told me I couldn't and they would activate it when I got the car. I forgot all about it until recently and now they are having problems programming it to add the feature to the radio. I'm told it adds it to the list of options when you press audio.
Strange they told you that, BMWUSA.com website has always showed the $350 option for sirius radio. Pressing the audio button will display the SAT radio along with all the other audio features.
If Sat radio is not displayed, sirius/XM cannot activate the radio. My wife's 2011 Z4 was equipped with the sat radio and I activated it here at home like Neil did.

Dan ,I hope they don't charge you more than the $350 for this..It has always been available on the 1M from the start of production.
__________________
Ray
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 10:12 PM   #15
Pamlico
Second Lieutenant
United_States
5
Rep
238
Posts

Drives: 1M
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rochester NY

iTrader: (0)

Is the Sirius system available after purchase only for the HK or is it built into the standard audio system as well?

I didn't order the HK audio and initially decided against Sirius but had it on my 135 and enjoyed it on long trips, so decided to add it. Unfortunately I was a couple of days too late as the order had entered 150 production status and the configuration had been frozen. No big thing, but I'm wondering if I can add it once it arrives (production is scheduled to be completed in 5 days). Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2011, 10:36 PM   #16
Dan Parker
Major
United_States
69
Rep
1,421
Posts

Drives: 2012 Golf R
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (0)

I believe you can but your service dept will be the final word.
__________________
Dan Parker
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 12:08 AM   #17
Papethova
Banned
178
Rep
3,094
Posts

Drives: '08 135/ '11 1M
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: at Death Valley 127

iTrader: (1)

693 is sat radio prep

655 is sat radio with 1 year subscription

Dunno how they are different aside from the obvious subscription
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 06:20 AM   #18
ThumpersM3
Private
ThumpersM3's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3M competition
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Papethova View Post
693 is sat radio prep

655 is sat radio with 1 year subscription

Dunno how they are different aside from the obvious subscription
"693" prep up to and including 2009 vehicles required a seperate Sirius reciever in order to have SAT radio. "693" would have all the wiring,antenna, and mounting provisions ready in case customer wants to install at a later date.when 2010 vehicles came along,Sirius hardware has become a part of the existing radio tuner. In this case ,the dealer just orderes a electronic enabling code thru the parts dept and short while later the technician loads on to a USB stick for data download into BMW's 3G programming station. Another words ,all the 2010 and later cars have 693.
"655" is pretty much turn key and all you need to do is activate the radio with a simple phone call or internet connection and your up and running in less than an hour (mine took 15 minutes) ..nice thing about "655" , there's no labor time to install .. purchasing sat radio with "693" on the 2010 and newer cars still costs $350 for the enabler code and then need to pay the tech his time to retrofit and code the vehicle,could reach in the $500 neighborhood depending on the dealer. This is why I told Dan he shouldn't pay more than what the option cost because he was told he couldn't order it at the time (not sure why though).
__________________
Ray
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 06:21 AM   #19
ThumpersM3
Private
ThumpersM3's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
79
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3M competition
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamlico View Post
Is the Sirius system available after purchase only for the HK or is it built into the standard audio system as well?
Yes sir
__________________
Ray
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2011, 09:58 AM   #20
Pamlico
Second Lieutenant
United_States
5
Rep
238
Posts

Drives: 1M
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rochester NY

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for letting me know that I can easily add Sirius once thr car arrives. I'll speak to the service dept. to get an idea of the programming costs.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2011, 10:07 AM   #21
MusclezMarinara
Banned
United_States
213
Rep
5,021
Posts

Drives: VALNCYA
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jersey

iTrader: (23)

Garage List
loaded sat nav HK working for me
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2011, 06:53 PM   #22
sq86
Captain
sq86's Avatar
United_States
187
Rep
660
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i E92 LMB
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brooklyn

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hopefully it works out for ya... any luck yet?

Just out of curiousity were you told you could not order it because it was too close to build date or did they just say no lol?
__________________

BMW CCA Member# 481791
Current: 2013 E92 328i LMB/Saddle Brown (1 of 21 for E92 LCI in that combo), 2005 Ford Focus
Sold: 2011 1M BS/Black, 2008 E90 328xi AW/Beige, 2001 E46 330xi SG/Black
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST