BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

01-19-2020, 10:51 AM   #1
PharmRock
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 135i Convertible

VRSF 5" Stepped FMIC and CP install in N55 E88 DCT helpful tips

Hello everyone,
First post (and a long one), but I've been using a lot of great info on the forums while going FBO on my 2013 E88 with DCT. I purchased my 2013 135i "Lifestyle Edition" as a CPO in spring 2017. It just went off of CPO warranty in December, and that's when I started the mods. Currently has 59k miles. While I am relatively new to working on BMWs, I have worked on cars since high school (rebuilt my 305 in my 78 Monte Carlo using a Chlton's manual) and do all maintenance and repairs on my (and my kids') vehicles short of pulling the engine or doing transmission overhauls.

While researching FMIC upgrades, I noticed that VRSF was a popular brand, with good quality at a decent price. Extreme Powerhouse had a good deal on the VRSF charge pipe as well as the FMIC so ordered them and installed everything the week after Christmas. While the information below doesn't cover everything about the install, it does point out some tips I learned doing the installation job and were either things that made it easier for me, or things I wish I had done. Hope this helps future installers and minimizes frustration, especially since VRSF supplies no directions/installation tips whatsoever for this product (Why???). Some of what I list below is found on other threads, but thought I would put everything in one place.

I placed jack stands all the way around, but it could be done on ramps. Made it easy to get around.

OEM IC and CP removal: