BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-04-2015, 04:42 AM   #1
vtl
Brigadier General
vtl's Avatar
Australia
1223
Rep
3,110
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

High beam Assist mirror (FLA) retrofit coding

After purchasing a high beam assist mirror I am having troubles getting it working correctly. Basically it deactivates the high beam assist mode when dipping the high beams, requiring a manual activation to get it going again.

I installed the mirror and made up a retrofit loom with some MQS connectors to the roof light module. I added $5AC to the FA in NCS Expert and did an FA_WRITE on the CAS and NFRM module. I then did SG_CODIEREN in expertmode on the CAS (car access system)/NFRM (Footwell module)/MASK (iDrive)/KOMBI (instrument cluster)/FLA (high beam assist)

Car is a October 2008 build Australian 135i. The exact part number retrofitted is 51169123937

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/null/partxref?q=51169123937

Here is the behaviour I have experienced:

I can activate the high beam assist mode with the stalk and get the icon to show up in the instrument cluster. It will activate the high beams when I drive into a dark area.

If I drive into a well lit area again, it deactivates the high beams, BUT it also deactivates the high beam assist mode at the same time (high beam off, high beam assistant off). At this point, it seems to be in a different state: If I push forward on the stalk high beam assist when the ambient light conditions are too bright, the high beams activate immediately and it doesn't go into high beam assist mode.

But if I push forward on the stalk when ambient light conditions are low, the high beam assist icon activates and the high beams activate. If I then drive into brighter area, the high beams will automatically deactivate along with the high beam assistant.

Restarting the car will allow me to get 1 proper use of the high beam assistant before going into the dodgy state mentioned above.

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 11:38 AM   #2
reisf
Lieutenant
reisf's Avatar
Australia
91
Rep
524
Posts

Drives: LBB M2
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Maybe try recoding your kombi module as well. Im not sure what exactly it controls but it has something to do with the instrument cluster...worth a shot anyway.

Edit: Sorry misread your post, never mind my suggestion
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2015, 11:48 PM   #3
vtl
Brigadier General
vtl's Avatar
Australia
1223
Rep
3,110
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

I will probably try to see if I can update the mirror using WinKFP. The mirror I have seems to be from 2006 according to realoem so it might need an update to work correctly. The part I have fitted says it is exchangeable retrospectively though so I would assume it should just work.

Whats frustrating is that I have seen a youtube video of someone using it with an e87 hatch, so clearly its possible
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2015, 03:09 AM   #4
vtl
Brigadier General
vtl's Avatar
Australia
1223
Rep
3,110
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Eureka! Updating the FLA module via Winkfp worked! I initially found it a bit strange that the tests in INPA on the FLA module weren't working. I kept getting 'error rejected'. Now after updating the FLA, the INPA tests work and I can manually activate/deactivate the high beam recommendations. Also I can turn on the demo mode which turns off the 50kph min speed requirement and shining a torch at the FLA mirror activates/deactivates the system. Yay!
__________________
Appreciate 1
      06-15-2015, 08:03 AM   #5
vtl
Brigadier General
vtl's Avatar
Australia
1223
Rep
3,110
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Just wanted to update the thread with my thoughts on the system. The instrument cluster on the 1 series looks like it reserves space for the high beam assist icon permanently. It means all the text is shifted across if you have any active displays which is a bit crappy.

See this post for an example
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showp...5&postcount=10

The solution for this is to code KOMBI FLA_VERBAUT to nicht_aktiv, which disables FLA display in the cluster. FLA still works, just don't get the icon display and you regain the space in the LCD.

If you have an E9x cluster then this is irrelavent, it'll display it properly. Maybe if I get an M3 cluster retrofit into my car...

The system seems to work best on fast straight roads with minimal road signs. The main enemy of the system is reflections from road signs. On tight, twisty roads this system will deactivate too readily as they usually have reflecting signs that confuse the system. The system does pick up brake lights very far away, i'm guessing its using the colour of the brake lights to distinguish.

Not to say the system isn't useful, its pretty neat and it does work for the most part, although it does err on the side of caution as you'd expect from a car manufacturer. You can certainly play with the sensitivity settings in coding.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2020, 02:48 PM   #6
Patryk7g
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: Fiat Stilo, e92
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Poland, Silesia

iTrader: (0)

Hi, I'm digger but i have this same problem.

When i select in WinKFP FLA65 module, enter VIN, and choose Update i have this message:


WinKFP didn't see my SW, and avablive SW for my camera. You remmember how you update camera?
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2020, 05:29 PM   #7
vtl
Brigadier General
vtl's Avatar
Australia
1223
Rep
3,110
Posts

Drives: 2008 BMW 135i MT
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patryk7g View Post
Hi, I'm digger but i have this same problem.

When i select in WinKFP FLA65 module, enter VIN, and choose Update i have this message:


WinKFP didn't see my SW, and avablive SW for my camera. You remmember how you update camera?
I think the zb number showed zero for me as well (im guessing it had never been flashed and the UIF was blank)

I was able to just flash it no issues after clicking program
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST