BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-07-2018, 10:00 AM   #1
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Valve stems

My TPMS sensors are dead and I don't care about the system working - I'm going to code out the sensors and enable the wheel speed version found on the euro cars.

The TPMS valve stems are corroded and I'm replacing tires soon, so I would like to replace the valve stems. Will these cheapos work or do I need something that matches the weight and shape of the TPMS sensor? I am on stock wheels.

Also, I am tracking my car so I need something that will stand up to track temps reliably. I assume any old valve stem will be fine but I don't want to have an issue on track due to a $2 part so figured I would ask here.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 10:12 AM   #2
MightyMouseTech
Major General
MightyMouseTech's Avatar
3100
Rep
5,065
Posts

Drives: 13 135i 6MT LeMans Blue MSport
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowsdower View Post
My TPMS sensors are dead and I don't care about the system working - I'm going to code out the sensors and enable the wheel speed version found on the euro cars.

The TPMS valve stems are corroded and I'm replacing tires soon, so I would like to replace the valve stems. Will these cheapos work or do I need something that matches the weight and shape of the TPMS sensor? I am on stock wheels.

Also, I am tracking my car so I need something that will stand up to track temps reliably. I assume any old valve stem will be fine but I don't want to have an issue on track due to a $2 part so figured I would ask here.
Yes, a TR414 will work.
Appreciate 2
rowsdower397.50
Dackelone8343.50

      12-07-2018, 02:36 PM   #3
ShocknAwe
Major General
ShocknAwe's Avatar
United_States
1543
Rep
6,121
Posts

Drives: E82 N54
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowsdower View Post
My TPMS sensors are dead and I don't care about the system working - I'm going to code out the sensors and enable the wheel speed version found on the euro cars.

The TPMS valve stems are corroded and I'm replacing tires soon, so I would like to replace the valve stems. Will these cheapos work or do I need something that matches the weight and shape of the TPMS sensor? I am on stock wheels.

Also, I am tracking my car so I need something that will stand up to track temps reliably. I assume any old valve stem will be fine but I don't want to have an issue on track due to a $2 part so figured I would ask here.
You doing the coding yourself? Or having an e-coder do it?
__________________
2010 135i M-Sport 6MT Jet Black
N54 | BUILD THREAD
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 02:52 PM   #4
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShocknAwe View Post
You doing the coding yourself? Or having an e-coder do it?
I'm going to try to do it myself.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 02:53 PM   #5
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMouseTech View Post
Yes, a TR414 will work.
Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 05:52 PM   #6
MightyMouseTech
Major General
MightyMouseTech's Avatar
3100
Rep
5,065
Posts

Drives: 13 135i 6MT LeMans Blue MSport
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowsdower View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMouseTech View Post
Yes, a TR414 will work.
Thank you!
You can also use a TR413 which will be nearly the same, just a little shorter, so it sticks out less.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 06:05 PM   #7
Dackelone
European Editor
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
8344
Rep
22,611
Posts

Drives: N54 e82
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShocknAwe View Post
You doing the coding yourself? Or having an e-coder do it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rowsdower View Post
I'm going to try to do it myself.
Don't forget to unplug the TPMS ecu located in the right rear of the car - after you code out the TPMS.


Dack
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 07:04 PM   #8
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Don't forget to unplug the TPMS ecu located in the right rear of the car - after you code out the TPMS.


Dack
I couldn't find it last time I looked. Mine must be in a different spot in the car. I checked 3 places where it might be located based on the E90 forum but it wasn't in any of those spots. The right rear trunk under the carpet, under the car near the rear subframe, and one other spot that I'm forgetting. If anyone has an idea on where the module might be, I'd love a suggestion on where to look.
Appreciate 1
Dackelone8343.50

      12-07-2018, 07:05 PM   #9
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMouseTech View Post
You can also use a TR413 which will be nearly the same, just a little shorter, so it sticks out less.
My thought on the longer one was I would be less likely to scratch a wheel with my tire gauge at the track if it sticks out further. What is stock/normal? TR413?
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2018, 08:20 PM   #10
ShocknAwe
Major General
ShocknAwe's Avatar
United_States
1543
Rep
6,121
Posts

Drives: E82 N54
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowsdower View Post
I'm going to try to do it myself.
Please please please please please write down the steps of you successfully DIY! I want to as well but without a how to I'm stuck.
__________________
2010 135i M-Sport 6MT Jet Black
N54 | BUILD THREAD
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2018, 06:43 AM   #11
MightyMouseTech
Major General
MightyMouseTech's Avatar
3100
Rep
5,065
Posts

Drives: 13 135i 6MT LeMans Blue MSport
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowsdower View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMouseTech View Post
You can also use a TR413 which will be nearly the same, just a little shorter, so it sticks out less.
My thought on the longer one was I would be less likely to scratch a wheel with my tire gauge at the track if it sticks out further. What is stock/normal? TR413?
We use aftermarket TR414 at work. It really depends on the rim. On my APEX wheels, I wish I had used the 413, the 414 sticks out a little too much. But, for your exact reason, little safer with the 414 and using tire pressure gauges often.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 10:51 AM   #12
houtan
Colonel
houtan's Avatar
344
Rep
2,075
Posts

Drives: 2011 135i
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: socal

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2011 135i  [5.00]
any luck getting the coding done?
__________________
2011 LMB 135i DCT
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 11:43 AM   #13
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

No I havenít looked at it yet but planning to over the next couple of weeks.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 11:49 AM   #14
crowtrobot
Private First Class
139
Rep
172
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Philly

iTrader: (1)

Yeah I'm marking this thread too for your update

I tried coding it out by pulling the fuse for the RDC system, it worked, but then I plugged the fuse back in and I think this re-enabled the system, it wasn't clear to me whether the fuse stays out or not.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 12:47 PM   #15
rowsdower
Lieutenant
rowsdower's Avatar
398
Rep
501
Posts

Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

I think something else also runs off that fuse so you canít just pull it. I read the procedure on the E90 forum. The first step is to locate the RDC module and unplug it. Even if you code out TPMS, if the module is plugged in, it will come back. I spent 5 minutes looking for my module before deciding I had better things to do. I have 2 weeks off work over Christmas, so maybe Iíll do it then and write a DIY.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2018, 01:54 AM   #16
smeard
Second Lieutenant
smeard's Avatar
United_States
56
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: 128i msport
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2010 BMW 128i  [0.00]
Fuse would probably be easier. You have to take out the carpet wall covering wheel arch and entire right side of the trunk (PITA as it is all one piece, and I could never get it to fit properly again). Water spilled from a shopping trip and leaked onto that module, giving my car a haywire dash and a module a few inches deep in water. Right now my TPMS light permanently on, want to code euro haven't had time.
__________________
2010 128i MSport Jet Black on Black: N51, 6 M/T, Sunroof, Xenons
MODS: Full straight pipe from primary manifold cats, 5% tint, CDV Delete, Powdercoated Black 207s and Yas Marina calipers, Injen intake (AA Headers and tune soon)
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST