BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

11-16-2018, 06:20 PM   #1
Japresto91
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 E90 M3 ZCP 6SPD

AA Headers no muffler

Hello all, fairly new to the forums and just wanted to reach out for some thoughts on an issue I am having. I just recently received and installed AA headers to my N51 128i. Before this install though I had already done secondary cats and muffler deletes. I was not aware with these headers that the sound difference would be as drastic as it is as I have never done this before. I am looking for a solution and if I cannot find one plan on re installing the stock headers as it was perfect before. I also have an incredible idle surge about 400-500 rpm with these new headers and have reset throttle adaptations just not driven very far. Sorry for my broken english, any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S I do not have access to the stock muffler as the shop discarded it and I had forgotten to take it when I had the job performed.
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2018, 09:03 PM   #2
Suhb
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2010 128i Coupe 6-Speed

You need a tune for the headers for them to run properly.

I'm assuming you have the resonator still in place. A 128i muffler will quiet it down substantially. I'd say quieter than a muffler delete alone. A 135i muffler will make it sound sporty but not too loud, and no drone either.

11-16-2018, 11:14 PM   #3
Japresto91
Private
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suhb View Post
You need a tune for the headers for them to run properly.

I'm assuming you have the resonator still in place. A 128i muffler will quiet it down substantially. I'd say quieter than a muffler delete alone. A 135i muffler will make it sound sporty but not too loud, and no drone either.