BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

12-05-2022, 07:59 PM   #1
Wishplay
Rep
Drives: BMW1 (E87) 116i (2.0) 2011

Desperately seeking advice on conclusion of garage on error codes

Hello,

I'm in a bit of a jam. I'm not in the habit of rushing into a forum but for reasons I'll explain tomorrow I can use all the the advice I can get asap.

I bought a used BMW1 (E87) 116i (2.0) 2011. From day one the engine light came on. Sometimes it disappears and sometimes it doesn't show at all but if it appears (yellow) it's always the same coded which I read it out with my OBD2 scanner and on the photo I attached.

I'm no expert by any means and it's my first BMW but to me it seems it's a faulty NOx sensor or probe. The mechanic of the garage (no BMW one) reducts everything to the crankshaft error and reasons all other follow out of it. He thinks it's a lose timingchain. Now the car has driven 93000 miles and had no replacement so I understand the timingchain could be ready for replacement. However I have none of the symptoms that are associated with it. Not one single misfire, no metal in the oil, no smoke. Only thing is irratic idling and the dial on 2000rpm when idle, which to me still points to a faulty NOx sensor. I know only BMW has a specific tool or software to determine a timing chain getting too lose but this mechanic doesn't and purely reasons from that one error code and that the car feels 'off' when driving it. He also mentioned the rear differential makes a 'wheezing' sound. I feel or hear neither.

Complication in a nutshell is (I will GP come back to it in detail later when requured) is that I need to take the car with me for a visit to my home in The Netherlands this Friday and will as such do 1000-1500 miles in two weeks. I have parts and labor warranty but limited and as the mechanic essentialy says both the chain and differential need replacement I need to strategically decide whether I will have the NOx sensor replaced. Tomorrow at the latest.