BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

11-15-2020, 02:08 AM   #1
oldman_stew
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2009 BMW 128i

3Stage Intake Question

Hey all,

Was wondering if someone could help clear up some confusion for me. Im brand new to the N52 world so please go easy on my ignorance:

Im looking at getting this manifold, with the 2 outlets pictured:

However, realoem for my 2009 model seems to show only 1 outlet (#7 in diagram). Just curious if Im going to run into any problems? Any advice/info is much appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2020, 09:38 AM   #2
///Makis
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 128i

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldman_stew View Post
Hey all,

Was wondering if someone could help clear up some confusion for me. Im brand new to the N52 world so please go easy on my ignorance:

However, realoem for my 2009 model seems to show only 1 outlet (#7 in diagram). Just curious if Im going to run into any problems? Any advice/info is much appreciated.
The outlets you're referring to in the pic I believe are for the ccv/pcv system. The 3si has the two disa valves one of them you can't see on this pictured manifold because it's on the underside but you can see two of the screws for mounting it.

Depending on the manifold you get and your car year you may need another hose to make the pcv system work for the manifold you get. Alternatively you can make your own with brass fittings and hoses but you need to make sure you keep the heater element plugged in (the hose connection on the right side has something that gets plugged into it) otherwise your car might throw codes. It's worth mentioning that there was a recall for these heater elements because some of them caught fire so you definitely have to replace it with a new version one if the one you get is the faulty one.