BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

04-24-2014, 04:32 AM   #1
Narek
United Arab Emirates
Rep
Drives: AW 1M (MH1 S)

Choking at low RPM

Hey guys,

My car has developed a problem and as I had no idea, I thought someone here might have some ideas. At low RPMs, (>2000), the car chokes - as if it's running out of petrol - just for a split second (sometimes repetitively). Even at idle, there are choke-like gaps in the exhaust grumble. I'm thinking its nothing severe, as mostly it runs fine. My thoughts were maybe injects, spark plugs, or fuel pump. Used that fuel injector cleaning liquid when I filled up petrol - no luck.

I have some sound coming out of the hood, almost like a whistle. By the sounds of it, I'm thinking its the dynamo. Probably needs calibration. Could the two problems be connected?

I have to honestly point out that I'm not very good at the mechanics of the car.

Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 08:16 AM   #2
MDORPHN
Colonel
Rep
Drives: AW 1M

How many miles? What, if any,mods?

Could be something simple like carbon build-up on the intake valves or, perhaps, worn spark plugs.

Neil
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 10:31 AM   #3
ozinaldo
Brigadier General
Portugal
Rep
Drives: 1M

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDORPHN View Post
How many miles? What, if any,mods?

Could be something simple like carbon build-up on the intake valves or, perhaps, worn spark plugs.

Neil
He has lots of stuff modded:

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=974858
BMW 1M-SOLD-: TECH: Evolve Race+N55mids, Evolve IC, Michelin PSS, ER cp, aFe filter, CDVx, Vorshlag camber plates, BMS OCC EXTERIOR: trunk spoiler, blacklines, black grills, IND goodies INTERIOR: Alcantara steering wheel, steel pedals, custom mats, MPower e-brake.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2014, 10:49 AM   #4
Narek
United Arab Emirates
Rep