BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-03-2014, 12:29 PM   #1
Grip&Go
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
275
Posts

Drives: 135i STi Mazdaspeed6
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (2)

Brake Sensors

Hey

Does anyone know if your have to also replace the Brake Sensors when replacing Pads and Rotors on a 135i?
Is this mandatory? or will the brake pad warning light disappear after pads have been replaced????
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 01:22 PM   #2
135Pats
Major General
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
433
Rep
6,495
Posts

Drives: A few BMWs
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grip&Go View Post
Hey

Does anyone know if your have to also replace the Brake Sensors when replacing Pads and Rotors on a 135i?
Is this mandatory? or will the brake pad warning light disappear after pads have been replaced????
You don’t have to replace them…but you should. Not a super expensive part and it’s not like you’re swapping them out multiple times a year unless you drive the pants off of your car. The clips are very fragile so there’s a good chance they will break when you do brakes anyways.
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Other stuff...652WHP

F30 N55 XDrive EBII
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 01:40 PM   #3
RoadRunner///M
Major General
RoadRunner///M's Avatar
No_Country
291
Rep
6,530
Posts

Drives: 1M (Sold), M3 F80
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney, Oz

iTrader: (0)

Once the sensor has triggered it will can't be re-used.
__________________
BMW F80 M3 DCT - Silverstone II - AA Mids, BM3 tune
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 01:55 PM   #4
135Pats
Major General
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
433
Rep
6,495
Posts

Drives: A few BMWs
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian///M View Post
Once the sensor has triggered it will can't be re-used.
Whoa I had no idea, I’ve always just replaced mine since the clips break so easily…but didn’t know once it goes off, that is it.

We need a decent rep system on this forum….
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Other stuff...652WHP

F30 N55 XDrive EBII
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 02:02 PM   #5
PrematureApex
Colonel
810
Rep
2,394
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Cut the wire, tie the ends together...and never have to worry about them again.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 02:06 PM   #6
PrematureApex
Colonel
810
Rep
2,394
Posts

Drives: N55 X1, N54 135, s54 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
You don’t have to replace them…but you should. Not a super expensive part and it’s not like you’re swapping them out multiple times a year unless you drive the pants off of your car. The clips are very fragile so there’s a good chance they will break when you do brakes anyways.
So he should replace them regardless of if the clips break or not?

He should replace a perfectly functioning sensor? Should we replace all functioning sensors of any kind, so long as they're cheap? Or only pad sensors?

Last edited by PrematureApex; 02-03-2014 at 04:41 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 02:38 PM   #7
RoadRunner///M
Major General
RoadRunner///M's Avatar
No_Country
291
Rep
6,530
Posts

Drives: 1M (Sold), M3 F80
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney, Oz

iTrader: (0)

You don't need the sensor if you inspect your pads. It is there for drivers who don't inspect. If you don't top up your brake fluid, then that would probably give a warning when the pads are worn anyhow.

You cannot re-use a sensor that has triggered. It is plastic and when triggered the plastic has worn down to the sensor. A sensor that hasn't triggered could be re-used, but the clips will probably break when you try to remove it from the pad.

You can get aftermarket replacement sensors for about $15 from stores such as ECS
__________________
BMW F80 M3 DCT - Silverstone II - AA Mids, BM3 tune

Last edited by RoadRunner///M; 02-03-2014 at 02:45 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2014, 04:14 PM   #8
135Pats
Major General
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
433
Rep
6,495
Posts

Drives: A few BMWs
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrematureApex View Post
Cut the wire, tie the ends together...and never have to worry about them again.
Yea I’m just bypassing the stupid things as I do a full brake job this week. These cars are so over-sensored…can’t we just have a dip stick and call it a day?
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Other stuff...652WHP

F30 N55 XDrive EBII
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST