BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-29-2011, 04:33 AM   #1
Elsabor67
aiming for 450.....
Elsabor67's Avatar
United_States
268
Rep
2,910
Posts

Drives: Totaled :-(
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (28)

Garage List
2009 135i  [5.00]
Question Unable to reset brake service light

Last weekend I went ahead and installed my new Cool Carbon pads, and sensors that I bought from BavAuto. Everything went well until I tried to reset the values using the BT scan tool. They reset on the system but not on the dash. I followed a couple of DIY's on here, E90post and N54tech, but still the brake light on the dash is still on and it shows on my Idrive that I have to service the brakes

I have also heard that if you don't use OEM sensors, you will have issues trying to reset the brake service count. Does anyone know if that is a true statement or has it happened to anyone?

Any help would really be appreciated.

Nick
__________________
Quote from Ezeedee regarding car mods:
"you're only done when you sell the car "
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 09:54 AM   #2
Groundpilot
Banned
Groundpilot's Avatar
United_States
464
Rep
1,712
Posts

Drives: 135I DCT , e92 M3 DCT, Audi A6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island,ny

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to Groundpilot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elsabor67 View Post
Last weekend I went ahead and installed my new Cool Carbon pads, and sensors that I bought from BavAuto. Everything went well until I tried to reset the values using the BT scan tool. They reset on the system but not on the dash. I followed a couple of DIY's on here, E90post and N54tech, but still the brake light on the dash is still on and it shows on my Idrive that I have to service the brakes

I have also heard that if you don't use OEM sensors, you will have issues trying to reset the brake service count. Does anyone know if that is a true statement or has it happened to anyone?

Any help would really be appreciated.

Nick
I deleted both brake sensors and i also got that red brake light on the dash. I removed that light after using diy i found on this forum. Dont remeber the thread and cant give you the link, but try serching again. It was very easy as i remember

Last edited by Groundpilot; 03-31-2011 at 10:44 AM..
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 12:34 PM   #3
Dackelone
European Editor
Dackelone's Avatar
Germany
9005
Rep
22,873
Posts

Drives: N54 e82
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bayern, Germany

iTrader: (1)

Nick, I asked my guys at the BMW Zentrum in Bamberg (Auto Hering). They said you will need new brake sensors. IF you drive too long with your old sensor and new brakes - you might need to go to a BMW dealer to get rid of the brake warning light on the dash. My guy said normaly you can just reset the brake pad light via the turn signal stalk like in my DIY thread.


DIY resetting service "due" lights…

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=415111


Normally BMW only has one sensor per axle. ei one on the LF brake and one on the RR brake pads. I am not sure about on our 1er's though. I see on RealOEM the sensors are cheap at $25 each. It only shows one per acel too. M3 09 AND135I 11 are you sure there are four sensors???


Dackel
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2011, 03:16 PM   #4
Elsabor67
aiming for 450.....
Elsabor67's Avatar
United_States
268
Rep
2,910
Posts

Drives: Totaled :-(
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (28)

Garage List
2009 135i  [5.00]
Got it fixed finally

The details: I went today to Lell BMW in Weiden and got the OEM sensors and put them on this evening. Afterwards, started the car and did the DIY for resetting the lights (http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=415111)

First try was a no go. Second attempt and now my brakes are reset The car is still going to the dealer on monday so they can do the mid brake lines because I am not a contortionist.
__________________
Quote from Ezeedee regarding car mods:
"you're only done when you sell the car "
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2011, 10:46 AM   #5
Groundpilot
Banned
Groundpilot's Avatar
United_States
464
Rep
1,712
Posts

Drives: 135I DCT , e92 M3 DCT, Audi A6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island,ny

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to Groundpilot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dackelone View Post
Nick, I asked my guys at the BMW Zentrum in Bamberg (Auto Hering). They said you will need new brake sensors. IF you drive too long with your old sensor and new brakes - you might need to go to a BMW dealer to get rid of the brake warning light on the dash. My guy said normaly you can just reset the brake pad light via the turn signal stalk like in my DIY thread.


DIY resetting service "due" lights…

http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=415111


Normally BMW only has one sensor per axle. ei one on the LF brake and one on the RR brake pads. I am not sure about on our 1er's though. I see on RealOEM the sensors are cheap at $25 each. It only shows one per acel too. M3 09 AND135I 11 are you sure there are four sensors???


Dackel
Thank you for pointing out my mistake. Corrected.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST