BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

01-12-2019, 02:29 PM   #1
rowsdower
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2011 128i 6MT Sport

128i brake master cylinder

2011 128i Sport package with 80,000 miles. Another day, another $200 part to replace!

Today while in line to get on track at a HPDE event, I noticed the pedal went down further than usual. I wasn't totally sure so I brought back to the paddock and sure enough, my pedal slowly sinks to the floor if I hold pressure. My day was done early, as I won't mess around with brakes on a race track. Not 100% = not going on track.

Seems like I'm due for a new master cylinder. This doesn't appear like a super difficult job. The master cylinder is right there when you open the hood. Is there anything else I should be looking to replace while I'm in there? I don't think there is anything wrong with the brake booster but this is my first time messing with the master cylinder side of a brake system so I thought I'd ask before diving into this.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2019, 04:18 PM   #2
02Pilot
Malcontent
Rep
Drives: 128i

Your life is going to be a lot easier if you have a pressure bleeder. Getting all the air out of the master and the downstream ABS pump can be annoying (general statement - I haven't dealt with it on my 128i yet). If the booster holds vacuum it's fine.

How often have you changed your brake fluid? Just curious about expected longevity of the m/c.
      01-12-2019, 07:38 PM   #3
rowsdower
Captain
Rep

Every couple of years. Most recently was in July of 2018, as I was prepping the car for track days. Prior to that was March 2017, then May 2015. I do use a Schwaben pressure bleeder so it shouldn't be a result of pushing the pedal all the way to the floor during bleeding.