BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

02-27-2019, 05:48 AM   #1
jhanna
Australia
Rep
Drives: 125I convertible

ragtop care?

hi people,

although i am new to bmw ownership,my son had a lovely 1982 318i about 8 year ago. that was when i started appreciating the bmw brand. we both admired the one series in particular, and had my eye on a coupe or a convertible for a while.

finally, i bought a beautiful low km example last month and its my first convertible.

just a simple question, do you use the bmw brand conditioner, for the ragtop, or do you use an aftermarket product?

how often do you apply the product. my car is strictly a weekend car and its under cover 24/7 with a dust cover as well.

btw.......its no cafe cruiser either, this car capabilities are utilized......fully, in the backwoods of the Adelaide hills.
      02-27-2019, 06:43 AM   #2
minirips2
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2010 128i 6M CR Slicktop

I don't know if it's available in Oz, but there's a product called Ragg Topp that has cleaners and conditioners for fabric tops. It's carried here by Auto Geek. Works great.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2019, 06:47 AM   #3
JimD
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: 128i convertible

I clean and treat the top once a year with Raggtopp, which is not BMW branded, products. I also hand wash the car to minimize the exposure of the top to other cleaning products and abrasion from brushes in commercial car washes. My convertible is in the garage at night but out during the day, most days. I do not use any cloth cover for it. Sometimes I vacuum the top when I am washing the painted outside surfaces.
      02-27-2019, 07:38 AM   #4
olds350
Needs a long road trip...
United_States
Rep
Drives: '11 e91, '13 e88, '19 golf R