BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

01-31-2011, 10:51 PM   #1
nchiarel
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2000 Audi S4

Thinking of a 135i, need advice...

Hello all, I am a nOOb nere, but have been on the Audi forums for a while.

I drive a 2000 Audi S4 and am thinking of selling it and getting a 135i. I tried for a long time to think of a car that I would be happy to replace my beloved S4 and had this idea the other day.

The points that make me want one:

Similar setup as the S4 with a 6 Cylinder Twin Turbo Engine
Aggressive looks (I don't like many new cars these days...)
Great handling
Modifiable (probably won't do anything at least for a while, but it;s nice to know)
Good Online Community

I test drove one today and wasn't 100% impressed but i am hoping it was just that it was automatic. It felt like It was hesitating during WOT and then all of a sudden the gas pedal would go even further to the floor when I already had it pinned. I am completely new to Newer cars, especially BMW's but I had DTS off and don't know what it was doing.

I didn't like the paddle shifters because you always have to be in a gear. You can't just push the clutch in or throw it in neutral, giving it a more jerky ride feeling (maybe I just need to get used to it?)

What can I expect with this car for repairs, common problems i should look for, anything you think I would like to know would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks all!
Appreciate 0
      01-31-2011, 11:06 PM   #2
1on135_deal
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 135i

so im guessing you wanna buy one vs lease it? right
      01-31-2011, 11:20 PM   #3
Turbolader
The Fat Stig
Rep
Drives: 2010 135i

did you test drive a 2011 "automatic" (your words) or did you drive a 2010 or older automatic?

the 2011 cars have a DCT transmission which is realistically a manual with a computarized clutch pack.