BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

12-05-2020, 04:48 PM   #1
laptime
Rep
Drives: '04 325 ci, '09 128i

Chip or ECU mod for 128i N51

My '09 128i E88 came with the N51 motor (confirmed) and therefore the DISA 3 stage intake manifold.
Is it better to get a 'plug and play' chip or remap my ECU with a stage 2 from Bimmerworld to optimize this intake?

Do these chips simply plug into OBD ? Is mapping an ECU from BM as easy as they make it sound and could I change it back just as easily for smog inspection?
I'm new to modding these cars and want to be able to remove whatever computer performance mod to pass CA smog when needed.
Is this how it works?

Thanks for your patience with these noob questions. Any help is appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      12-08-2020, 11:44 AM   #2
carscatscoffee15
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 128i ZED Package

Quote:
Originally Posted by laptime View Post
My '09 128i E88 came with the N51 motor (confirmed) and therefore the DISA 3 stage intake manifold.
Is it better to get a 'plug and play' chip or remap my ECU with a stage 2 from Bimmerworld to optimize this intake?

Do these chips simply plug into OBD ? Is mapping an ECU from BM as easy as they make it sound and could I change it back just as easily for smog inspection?
I'm new to modding these cars and want to be able to remove whatever computer performance mod to pass CA smog when needed.
Is this how it works?

Thanks for your patience with these noob questions. Any help is appreciated.
by chip you mean custom tune/OTS tune?
Mods Done: AA Exhaust/Headers | 3SIM | MILVs | StageFP Dyno Tuned | Euro Box Intake Swap | LCI Blackline Tailights | OEM Euro Bi-Xenon Swap from Halogen | Rear Bumper M-Sport Swap | Rear PDC Retrofit | BMW OEM CF Diffuser/Spoiler | BMW Front Aero Kit | Supersprint Sec 1 Cat Delete Straight Pipes