BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

06-06-2023, 05:27 PM   #1
Jobon
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW 135i

CDV delete, clutch spring removal, and/or UCP?

I've been driving automatic cars for the past 15 years and decided to finally take the plunge into learning to drive stick. I've been teaching myself using a 2008 BMW 135i.

This is the first clutch pedal I've ever used and my first impressions were that the clutch pedal has to go a looooong way to bottom out (I'm only about 5'2"), it can be difficult to maintain steady pressure when releasing the pedal as the amount of pressure being applied to bring the pedal back into place seems to be non-linear across the throw, and lastly, it seems difficult to "feel" when the clutch has engaged.

As I've been perusing these forums it seems that some of what I'm feeling is not unexpected in these cars and there are some modifications people do to "resolve" them. I personally don't know if I prefer the clutch the way it is or not as I have nothing to compare it to.

The modifications generally talked about seem to be deleting or replacing the clutch delay valve, replacing the pedal with the UCP, or removing the clutch pedal spring.

All that being said, given that I'm using the car to learn, I was hoping to get some input on if any of these modifications might help me to better learn to drive any manual car, not just this one, as I don't want to build "bad habits" with a clutch pedal that behaves differently from most. Or am I just going down a rabbit hole here for no reason and the stock clutch setup is perfectly reasonable to learn on?