BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

11-13-2020, 04:34 PM   #1
ekkathewrekka
135i Enthusiast
Australia
Rep
Drives: BMW 135i MY2011 N55 Softtop

N55 Stage 2+ tune - reliability?

Interested in the forums thoughts on this, booked into the shop for :-

Catless DP
6.5 inch FMIC
BMS intake
MHD stage 2 + map
New plugs one step colder
New Coils
BMS metal charge pipe

This are commons mods so wondering what other N55 owners experience is with reliability ? Can our motor handle this HP

Should be about 340 HP. Have 95ks on the clock. It’s a DD doing about 15ks a year
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2020, 12:42 AM   #2
PopsnBurbles
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 135is :) 192/586

Garage List
I have MHD Stage 2+

AR Catted DP
ER Intercooler
ER CP
Stock intake

No problems whatsoever. I've been running this setup for almost 8 months now but I've only driven 3K miles.

I had an intake on for a while but I get lean mixture at partial loads + rail pressure too high (causes limp mode). I took that off and will put it back on once I find someone that can make it work. I miss the sound. This happens with or without the tune.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2020, 04:29 AM   #3
ekkathewrekka
135i Enthusiast
Australia
Rep

Ok, hope my inlet does not cause this problem. Any way will post my dyno run when done
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2020, 09:36 AM   #4
dtla1
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2011 135i, Space Grey

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekkathewrekka View Post
Ok, hope my inlet does not cause this problem. Any way will post my dyno run when done
There's a few people documenting issues with the BMS intake especially, just keep it in mind as something to check in case an issue does come up.

I run 2+ with stock down pipe (just select oem downpipe in options). Only real supporting mods I've got installed are intercooler (atm) and dv+. Stock plugs, stock coils. No issues