BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-28-2022, 05:45 PM   #1
deeejh
Registered
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 BMW 128i

2009 BMW 128i -- First time purchasing rims, I have a few questions/concerns.

Hello!

I live in the Chicago suburbs and was hoping to get some advice for my specific make and model (2009 128i) and if the "sports package" changes anything when it comes to purchasing/installing the right rims.With this, I'm in need of a solid recommendation to both purchase/install the rims and add new tires.

This is my first time doing this and with this car being my first, she's really special to me. I've worked incredibly hard to maintain her and fully intend on keeping her to my grave. She absolutely needs new rims largely for safety purposes--the current stock ones are cracked. So, with the funds being present, it's time to get her nice rims.

This process comes with several concerns like:

1) Selecting the right rims for my make and model so that all the electronics still work as they did with the stock rims. Same with being able to drive and handle the car.

2) What would a realistic cost look like for labor for both installing the rims and tires?

3) The car is considered to be the "sports package" for the 2009 128i model. I'm not sure if that changes anything when it comes to shopping for the right rims/tires, but if it does, what should I specifically look for or say?

4) Is there anything else that I need to know about doing this? I have enough to spend $5-6k if needed. However, seeing how some of the more expensive sets go for around $1k, I'm hard pressed to see the final bill being past $7k, maybe?

5) Are there any known websites that can help capture what the car would look like with a certain set of rims? The car's color is black with cherry red seats so I'm thinking of going either all black or black body + black rims with red breaks or black body + deep red rims.