BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

02-15-2016, 03:23 AM   #1
Greg125i
Rep
Drives: 125i M Sport Convertible

Engine and electrical failure while driving!

Hey all
I'm hoping someone can help me here because so far BMW can't! I was driving (2011 125i M Sport convertible) along the other day and was only going about 15mph when everything just died, electrics and engine (first thing I noticed was my lights cut out as it was dark!). So I coasted to the best place I could and there were lots of warning lights (sorry I'm not technical but I remember the picture of the steering wheel and exclamation mark to the right). I pressed the ignition to restart but at that point there was no life at all, zero reaction, not even warning lights. Now that part has happened before when trying to start the car, the whole no life thing but not while driving, and I knew that I just had to wait a minute. So I did the same again and it did indeed come back to life, as if nothing had ever happened and it hadn't just tried to kill me! No warning lights, nothing! So luckily I was one road from home and I drove there, but the car ran perfectly... The next day I called the BMW assistance and they sent a technician who couldn't find ANYTHING. Zero fault codes apart from one for the roof, car ran beautifully, battery charges fine, connections seem fine on the surface, we drove it for a few mins and nothing. So fair enough, he couldn't do anything if he can't find anything but does anyone have any idea what could be going on please? On a side note, as I was putting the car back in the garage after the technician left, the Windows wouldn't go down and up when opening and closing the door. But again it only lasted a while... So apologies for the long post but I'm throwing as much info out as I can and if anyone can help I'd really appreciate it! Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0