BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-30-2008, 04:32 PM   #1
IDBMW
Captain
IDBMW's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
811
Posts

Drives: 2015 M235i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boise, ID

iTrader: (0)

Great fuse device for adding 12V accessories

Here is a little device that makes for a clean install for additional fused 12V power from the fuse panel like a radar detector.
You remove the original fuse and Install the Add-A-Circuit. One of the fuses in the Add-A-Circuit replaces the original fuse and the other one has the wire connected to it for accessories use.
I use this for my radar detector. On my Z4 the fuse panel is behind the glove box. I run my radar detector power wire from the fuse panel up the A pillar, across the top of the windshield at the headliner. The wire is hidden out of the way.
You can tap power from the overhead lights to make a shorter run to the radar detector but it is not fused from the accessorie and could cause problems if you get a short
__________________
2015 M235i - Estoril Blue - 6 speed - Black Lather - Cold Weather Package - Premium Package - Harmon/Kardon Premium sound
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2008, 09:26 PM   #2
Lester
Colonel
64
Rep
2,899
Posts

Drives:
Join Date: Oct 2007

iTrader: (0)

Add-a-circuit

Quote:
Originally Posted by IDBMW View Post
Here is a little device that makes for a clean install for additional fused 12V power from the fuse panel like a radar detector.
You remove the original fuse and Install the Add-A-Circuit. One of the fuses in the Add-A-Circuit replaces the original fuse and the other one has the wire connected to it for accessories use.
I use this for my radar detector. On my Z4 the fuse panel is behind the glove box. I run my radar detector power wire from the fuse panel up the A pillar, across the top of the windshield at the headliner. The wire is hidden out of the way.
You can tap power from the overhead lights to make a shorter run to the radar detector but it is not fused from the accessorie and could cause problems if you get a short
Where do you get these? Can someone mail me a couple?
__________________
2008 135i, Jet Black, 6 spd, Canadian Sport package, black leatherette, manual seats, aluminum glacier trim, PDC.

1983 E21 Delphin, M10, 5 speed, LSD, MSW wheels, recaro seats, Hartge strut brace, rear sway bar.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2008, 09:40 PM   #3
cmd
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Villa Rica, GA

iTrader: (0)

Amazon would be glad to, I bet. You can probably find them locally.

http://www.amazon.com/Littelfuse-FHA.../dp/B0002BGELQ
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2008, 10:08 PM   #4
MadMan77
↓↓↓ Ex-Con ↓↓↓
MadMan77's Avatar
Guam
27
Rep
1,874
Posts

Drives: Jet Black '08 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Yigo

iTrader: (1)

If you have an AutoZone in you area, that is where I got one to run gauges in my STi.
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2008, 10:19 PM   #5
djmBMW
Private
djmBMW's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 135
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Litchfield County, CT

iTrader: (0)

Autozone has two varieties, one for the larger spade fuse and also one for the "mini"spade. Has anyone determined which fuses in the 135 are switched on from the ignition vs on all the time?
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2008, 11:43 PM   #6
InsaneSkippy
Lieutenant Colonel
InsaneSkippy's Avatar
52
Rep
1,598
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to InsaneSkippy Send a message via MSN to InsaneSkippy
I love those things! I used one when I hooked up the...er...siren... to my car. It makes for a very easy and clean install.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      05-06-2008, 07:21 AM   #7
MZWIE
Lieutenant Colonel
263
Rep
1,588
Posts

Drives: M2
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: GEORGIA

iTrader: (0)

One comment. I found that in the 1 none of the "big" fused were in the ACC circuitry. I had to use one of the empty "small" fuses for this.

In essence I made my own "add-a-circuit" using a small spade lug.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST