BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-20-2010, 10:35 AM   #1
MDORPHN
Colonel
Rep
Drives: AW 1M

But will it be trackworthy?

I'm getting very close to putting a deposit down for a 1 Series M Coupe, however I remain concerned about its trackworthiness.

This is important to me as I'm an active instructor and One Lapper and spend between 20-30 days a year on track.

More specifically, I'm concerned whether the oil and coolant temperature-related issues -- which can put the N54 into limp home mode --have been successfully addressed.

Yes, I know that the 1 Series M Coupe will likely come with both an oil cooler and the auxilliary radiator and revised fan programming that BMW introduced in its "performance power" kits. I believe that these bits and pieces are also installed on the 335is.

Does anyone have any insight into whether these changes have effectively addressed these cooling issues?

Thanks.

Neil
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2010, 10:44 AM   #2
Mu Mu
First Lieutenant
South Africa
Rep
Drives: BMW 330i

The only way to get your questions answered is to wait until the car is released. Up until then its all tomatoes and potatoes.
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2010, 11:02 AM   #3
ES BMW
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: '12 E92 M3 ZCP 6MT

I agree. The good news is that several journalists have test driven the 1M and I haven't heard anything about the test car triggering a limp mode. On the contrary, we first heard of the E92 335i going into limp during the test drives of auto journalists. Those guys are not easy on cars.

I would say it's a good sign that we have yet to hear anything about the 1M falling on its face.
      10-20-2010, 11:13 AM   #4
TunedM2C
Brigadier General
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2016 LBB M2

Meth
Appreciate 0
      10-20-2010, 11:15 AM   #5
MDORPHN
Colonel
Rep
Drives: AW 1M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuned1 View Post
Meth