BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > N55 Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning > Catless concerns - help!

07-14-2016, 03:47 AM   #1
M2SJ
Rep
Drives: BMW M2

Garage List
2016 BMW M2  [0.00]
Catless concerns - help!

Hi Chaps, I hope you can help with whats maybe a dumb question but I'm a newbie to the whole BMW tuning stuff.

I've seen all the benefits to fitting one of the Catless downpipes ie. better performance, sound etc. However I understand this is likely to throw CEL errors. I also understand that by installing the JB4 system that this will remove the CEL's as and when they are raised?
However, when I take my car to get serviced, I'd understandably want to remove the JB4 unit etc.. This would leave me with the downpipe and vulnerable to CEL issues on the way to the garage and during the service.

How do you guys avoid this or am I thinking too hard about something that will never happen.
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2016, 08:29 AM   #2
ashburyn54
Captain
Rep
Drives: f87 M2

Quote:
Originally Posted by M2SJ
Hi Chaps, I hope you can help with whats maybe a dumb question but I'm a newbie to the whole BMW tuning stuff.

I've seen all the benefits to fitting one of the Catless downpipes ie. better performance, sound etc. However I understand this is likely to throw CEL errors. I also understand that by installing the JB4 system that this will remove the CEL's as and when they are raised?
However, when I take my car to get serviced, I'd understandably want to remove the JB4 unit etc.. This would leave me with the downpipe and vulnerable to CEL issues on the way to the garage and during the service.

How do you guys avoid this or am I thinking too hard about something that will never happen.
Without JB4 it will throw a catless code. Look into the Fabspeed catted downpipe if you don't want a code.