E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Mixed thoughts about intake??

04-29-2009, 10:56 AM   #1
ptwob311
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 335i Sedan

Mixed thoughts about intake??

I know... I know... it has been beaten to death, which is better, CAI or DCI?, BMS? Injen? Afe? Hear me out!
I have a question concerning, well, potentially all of them. Reading around for a while i have found they without a doubt help the car performance wise. (Just a side note... I have over ten years experience tuning mustangs, camaros, vettes, and sportbikes, I'm not a noob when it comes to performance tuning...just Beamers... especially with warranty )

I have had the car for 3 months now but bought it with 12k on the odometer.

So i have decided that the car is going to get an AA FMIC and an Intake pretty soon. In fact i want to order stuff ASAP. However I have stumbled on post that claim any intake you buy will do no good unless the car has a tune (ie SSTT, JB+, Procede, etc...) I have found claims that you will actually lose power on a stock tune and the stock intake is best.
Can anyone verify this or clarify if any of the intakes are worth the money. I plan on getting an ECU flash when i get closer to the warranty expiring; but don't want to lose power now while the engine/turbos are running at stock levels. The FMIC upgrade is happening ASAP regardless of intake dilemma.

I wanted to reference the post i have been reading on beamerforums and here but hell.....a topic like this one, you have all undoubtedly seen all the drama associated with whole DCI CAI/ Afe-Injen war.

I just wanna know gains/losses on stock engine setup..... THANKS and I got my flame suit ready if needed.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2009, 11:07 AM   #2
lpphreakx06
Professional Moose Racer
Vietnam
Rep
Drives: SG 335i E92 RIP + 2015 SS M3