BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

12-26-2013, 05:45 PM   #1
nunka
perpetually salty
United_States
Rep
Drives: '13 AW 6MT 128i M Sport

6MT 128i tips?

Hello, friendly friends.

I picked up my new 6MT 128i last week. My first BMW! My first manual! I'm a crazy person! After a couple hundred miles, it feels like I'm beginning to tame this beast (the notchy shift gates were particularly difficult to acclimate to, having learned the basics in a friend's old Mazda RX8). But I have no delusions of grandeur... I'm a novice, through and through.

So, before I leave the break-in period and really push this machine, I want to be sure I'm developing the right habits. I'd also like to see if anyone here has 128i-specific pointers for city driving and stop-and-go traffic - the two situations I'm most worried about, due to my questionable takeoff skills. How the hell does one even drive this car at low speeds? Is it ever okay to feather the clutch? When is engine braking appropriate? And so on and so forth.

Any tips from the (relative) experts would be appreciated. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 05:50 PM   #2
Dackelone
European Editor
Germany
Rep
Drives: N54 e82

First congrats on your new 1er. You might be interested to read these threads.

CDV Delete/Replacement DIY
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209440

CDV delete... night and day...
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=473094

You might also like installing the BMW Performance SSK...

Performance short shifter
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=484069
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2013, 05:51 PM   #3
Bimmer-Bob
!
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2010 128i

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by nunka View Post
Hello, friendly friends.