BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)
 





 

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-03-2011, 09:37 AM   #1
ChrisBuer
Captain
ChrisBuer's Avatar
United Kingdom
23
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

1M remap - UK

I've been having an interesting debate with a well known chips firm who are super (guess the name for the sentance ) around remapping the 1M.

Unfortunately they have not yet seen an 1 Series M coupe at their head office for development and testing work, so no remap has been produced so far.

However, they did say to me that provided the ECU is similar in nature to the unit used on the other BMW twin turbocharged engines (N54), they may be able to produce a suitable remap.

However, if the 1M is using new ECU hardware, they would need to either develop a method of reading and programming the ECU or send an ECU to one of their partners who produces hardware programming solutions.

So my question is, does anyone know if the ECU is similar in nature to the one found on say, the 135i, or is this a new piece of ECU hardware?

Many thanks!
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:08 AM   #2
Jezzer
Banned
United Kingdom
24
Rep
938
Posts

 
Drives: Series 1 m coupe
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Chris arent you worried about invalidating your warranty?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:23 AM   #3
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
We've tuned a couple already. Being a BMW specialist we knew what hardware was in the car before it was launched


DSC_0014 by maahny, on Flickr


DSC_0002 by maahny, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:31 AM   #4
kmpowell
Private First Class
kmpowell's Avatar
England
4
Rep
152
Posts

 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England (UK)

iTrader: (0)

Imran - am I right in thinking you are getting 395bhp with just a remap?

Could you post up some torque curves?

Cheers
__________________
May '11 - Nov '11 - 1M Coupe. Gone but not forgotten.
Alpine White, Black Boston leather with Kyalami Orange stitching, Bluetooth, BMWP Kidney Grilles, BMWP Racing pedals
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:34 AM   #5
Aussie_in_London
Lieutenant Colonel
Aussie_in_London's Avatar
34
Rep
1,663
Posts

 
Drives: 1M & track built Astra OPC
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBuer View Post
I've been having an interesting debate with a well known chips firm who are super (guess the name for the sentance ) around remapping the 1M.

Unfortunately they have not yet seen an 1 Series M coupe at their head office for development and testing work, so no remap has been produced so far.

However, they did say to me that provided the ECU is similar in nature to the unit used on the other BMW twin turbocharged engines (N54), they may be able to produce a suitable remap.

However, if the 1M is using new ECU hardware, they would need to either develop a method of reading and programming the ECU or send an ECU to one of their partners who produces hardware programming solutions.

So my question is, does anyone know if the ECU is similar in nature to the one found on say, the 135i, or is this a new piece of ECU hardware?

Many thanks!
Who have you been chatting to up at Buckinghamshire mate, was it Jamie?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:47 AM   #6
Z4Mr
Private
United Kingdom
0
Rep
78
Posts

 
Drives: 1M ETA JAN 2012
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Imran,

Please PLEASE let us know the dyno figures you got for stock and with remap - curves would be cool!

TIA,

Mike
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:48 AM   #7
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmpowell View Post
Imran - am I right in thinking you are getting 395bhp with just a remap?

Could you post up some torque curves?

Cheers

These cars have had no adaption as dyno runs have been done straight after flashing the evolve map in. They will smooth out and gain some more power as is normal with 135i's after they have had a chance to adapt to the tuning.

The 1M is compatible with our evolve-R cable so you can load your original/tuned maps into the car as you please. This also means we can tune your car remotely if you are a long way from us.

We will have stage 2 tuning complete very soon. Supersprint have developed a turbo back system for us which will be ready for sale in 1 month. The inlet temperatures on these cars is quite high so they will benefit greatly from an FMIC - we have currently had our own one designed by the company that makes the OEM Konigsegg intercoolers and will be releasing it shortly.

Example 1:

Flywheel


1M by maahny, on Flickr

Wheel


1MWHP by maahny, on Flickr

Example 2:

Flywheel


1Mflynick by maahny, on Flickr

Wheel


1MWHPnick by maahny, on Flickr

Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 10:54 AM   #8
Aussie_in_London
Lieutenant Colonel
Aussie_in_London's Avatar
34
Rep
1,663
Posts

 
Drives: 1M & track built Astra OPC
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

I know the question that is going to be asked in relation to DIY tuning devices, is there any marker left in the ECU that makes the dealership aware that the ecu has been reflashed (warranty void)
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:08 AM   #9
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie_in_London View Post
I know the question that is going to be asked in relation to DIY tuning devices, is there any marker left in the ECU that makes the dealership aware that the ecu has been reflashed (warranty void)
As far as we know there isn't a marker that we haven't dealt with at this time. It is possible BMW could implement something in the future. We have been tuning this ECU for a while now and have not had any customers with refused warranties running our tunes.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:30 AM   #10
ChrisBuer
Captain
ChrisBuer's Avatar
United Kingdom
23
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Some very interesting information on here so thanks to all for posting

Firstly, I'm less concerned about warranty if the maps are switchable. In other words, I can simply re-programme myself before going back into a dealer. Also I'd like it if the map showed no changes when being set back to stock. Imran - do your maps offer these features?

Secondly I've never understood power measured at the flywheel and wheels. When BMW say the car has 340bhp, where is this measured? At the flywheel or wheels?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:32 AM   #11
Z4Mr
Private
United Kingdom
0
Rep
78
Posts

 
Drives: 1M ETA JAN 2012
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Many thanks for that Imran.

So what we're saying here is that on the dyno you used the stock 1M puts out around 300hp and 350tq at the wheels. Pretty solid for stock!

Cheers,

M1ke
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:33 AM   #12
Z4Mr
Private
United Kingdom
0
Rep
78
Posts

 
Drives: 1M ETA JAN 2012
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBuer View Post
Some very interesting information on here so thanks to all for posting

Firstly, I'm less concerned about warranty if the maps are switchable. In other words, I can simply re-programme myself before going back into a dealer. Also I'd like it if the map showed no changes when being set back to stock. Imran - do your maps offer these features?

Secondly I've never understood power measured at the flywheel and wheels. When BMW say the car has 340bhp, where is this measured? At the flywheel or wheels?
Chris,

I'm pretty certain it's at the flywheel

Mike
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:41 AM   #13
bogeyman
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
39
Posts

 
Drives: C220 CDi
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBuer View Post
Secondly I've never understood power measured at the flywheel and wheels. When BMW say the car has 340bhp, where is this measured? At the flywheel or wheels?
340hp should be at the flywheel. You lose power from flywheel to the wheels.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:41 AM   #14
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBuer View Post
Some very interesting information on here so thanks to all for posting

Firstly, I'm less concerned about warranty if the maps are switchable. In other words, I can simply re-programme myself before going back into a dealer. Also I'd like it if the map showed no changes when being set back to stock. Imran - do your maps offer these features?

Secondly I've never understood power measured at the flywheel and wheels. When BMW say the car has 340bhp, where is this measured? At the flywheel or wheels?
Please clarify what you mean by the question in bold above.

Yes BMW would quote flywheel figures.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 11:58 AM   #15
ChrisBuer
Captain
ChrisBuer's Avatar
United Kingdom
23
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Imran, sorry I'll try and clarify as I had some more questions also. What I wanted to know is:

1.) Do you offer a handheld device so that I can remap my car at home?

2.) If so, does this allow me to switch between the Evolve map and the stock map? I'd like to be able to set the car back to stock when, say, I take it into the dealer for servicing.

3.) If, once I set the map back to stock, will there be any traces left showing that the car has been modified?

I know with the Bluefinn device on other cars that you can simply plug and play between the remap and stock map. Just wondered if you offered something similar.

Lastly, what is the torque increase with your map?

Many thanks
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 12:23 PM   #16
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBuer View Post
Imran, sorry I'll try and clarify as I had some more questions also. What I wanted to know is:

1.) Do you offer a handheld device so that I can remap my car at home?

2.) If so, does this allow me to switch between the Evolve map and the stock map? I'd like to be able to set the car back to stock when, say, I take it into the dealer for servicing.

3.) If, once I set the map back to stock, will there be any traces left showing that the car has been modified?

I know with the Bluefinn device on other cars that you can simply plug and play between the remap and stock map. Just wondered if you offered something similar.

Lastly, what is the torque increase with your map?

Many thanks
1. Not hand held but an OBDII cable that connects to the car via a laptop. Please see here Evolve-R We are working on having code clearing and datalogging enabled on this also.

2. Yes.

3. Not as far as we know. As I said above we have been tuning this ECU for a while with no issues.

4. 50 lb.ft Torque.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 12:45 PM   #17
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z4Mr View Post
Many thanks for that Imran.

So what we're saying here is that on the dyno you used the stock 1M puts out around 300hp and 350tq at the wheels. Pretty solid for stock!

Cheers,

M1ke
Yep they have all produced 300 WHP on our dyno using 99 Octane fuel.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 12:55 PM   #18
Aussie_in_London
Lieutenant Colonel
Aussie_in_London's Avatar
34
Rep
1,663
Posts

 
Drives: 1M & track built Astra OPC
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Having been involved with the VXR scene for a number of years helping run an official Vxl/VXR website, I got to know the VXR brand and product managers very well, now tuning and warranty is a big deal at present and all warranty claims on engines, gearboxes etc on any of the VXR range is started by the removal of the ECU which is then sent for testing, any changes in parameters or coding flagged up possible mapping and your warranty claim is thrown out and in return you receive a 200quid bill for the ecu testing followed by and any repairs required........
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 01:10 PM   #19
Imran@Evolve
Imran@Evolve's Avatar
United Kingdom
83
Rep
2,067
Posts

 
Drives: E60 M5, E92 M3, E46 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bedfordshire UK

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Imran@Evolve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie_in_London View Post
Having been involved with the VXR scene for a number of years helping run an official Vxl/VXR website, I got to know the VXR brand and product managers very well, now tuning and warranty is a big deal at present and all warranty claims on engines, gearboxes etc on any of the VXR range is started by the removal of the ECU which is then sent for testing, any changes in parameters or coding flagged up possible mapping and your warranty claim is thrown out and in return you receive a 200quid bill for the ecu testing followed by and any repairs required........
If you are worried about it don't do it is the simple answer.

This ECU has been around since 2008 and we have tuned many many 335i/135i/Z435i/X635i's both in the UK and abroad with this ECU with no such issues. If in the future BMW implement something like VXR have then that would have to be looked at.

I have heard about this in the VXR market - the ECU's go back to the warranty approved tuner to check whether its their code (if tuned).
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 02:56 PM   #20
Aussie_in_London
Lieutenant Colonel
Aussie_in_London's Avatar
34
Rep
1,663
Posts

 
Drives: 1M & track built Astra OPC
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imran@Evolve View Post
If you are worried about it don't do it is the simple answer.

This ECU has been around since 2008 and we have tuned many many 335i/135i/Z435i/X635i's both in the UK and abroad with this ECU with no such issues. If in the future BMW implement something like VXR have then that would have to be looked at.

I have heard about this in the VXR market - the ECU's go back to the warranty approved tuner to check whether its their code (if tuned).

Vxl have gone mental over fraudulent warranty claims, never fazed me as such as all my VXR's have been heavily tuned from the word go and my current is a stripped out track car but it is good to know BMW have not felt the need to go down this route yet, with the VXR the ecu is sent to TMS in MK and then forwarded on to Superchips, bit of a slow process taking up to a few weeks, but there is no longer a warranty approved tuner after Vxl departed ways with 888 in BTCC back in 09......

Once in receipt of my 1M I think I might be in touch........

Thanks for the info.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 02:59 PM   #21
ChrisBuer
Captain
ChrisBuer's Avatar
United Kingdom
23
Rep
631
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Imran, many thanks for your posts here, it's great to see a UK tuner remapping the 1M.

From looking at the dyno graphs above, the stock 1M appears to be very much under-rated power and torque wise by BMW. In fact a friend of mine had his 135i on a rolling road and it was a similar story!

Just so that I'm reading it right, the "Example 2" graph shows the 1M producing over 450 lb/ft of torque?! That's almost as much as a 997 Turbo!! If I'm reading that right, it's mightily impressive!!
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2011, 05:20 PM   #22
bogeyman
Enlisted Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
39
Posts

 
Drives: C220 CDi
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Imran, wots your history with tuning cars? You're not like a Ahmed Bayjoo are you? lol
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST