BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

10-11-2013, 04:57 PM   #1
e90Nick
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: White e46 M3

135i Suspension Fix?

Okay so I am new to the 1er world, and had a question about suspension. The body roll on this car is pretty bad, which I really don't love, but can live with. Besides swapping to the M3 suspension, which some people do, is there a cheaper alternative? Will a good set of coilovers/springs help this problem? Basically what I am asking is what is the cheapest way to reduce body roll?
I really don't mod and have no experience, so sorry if any of these questions are dumb.
Thanks for the help
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2013, 06:00 PM   #2
Dackelone
European Editor
Germany
Rep
Drives: N54 e82

A lot of guys first suspension upgrade is swapping in the M3 e9x front sway bar. I think it would(must) make the car understeer more... but a lot of guys like the way the car drives bc it has much less sway in the turns. Most go either with the e92(coupe) sway bar. But the e93 (vert) sway bar is stiffer and 0.5mm thicker from what I recall. '

My first mod to the suspension was replacing the run flats with Michelin PS3's (or PSS what you guys have in the states). I also went with 225's up front and 255's in the rear. That really make the car handle better. The only down side is you loose "some" initial turn in when going with normal tires vs RFT's.

I also ended up changing the rear axle bushings to M3 units. By far a GREAT mod, but kind of pricey. It really transforms the way the ENTIRE car handles and responds to inputs.

E93 Front Sway Bar Install & Pics (56k Death)
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showt...28#post9197628

My new Michelin PS3’s 225’s & 255’s…
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showt...chelin+PS3%27s

Dackel's replacement of rear suspension OE bushings with M3 ones…
http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showt...1#post11189793
Appreciate 0