BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

06-16-2011, 02:58 AM   #1
Dec540
Captain
Australia
Rep
Drives: G80 M3

Detailing for beginners DIY

Hey guys. I made a quick, basic DIY introductory to detailing and put it on E46 fanatics. I thought some of you 1addicts might also be interested

Quote:
As promised, here is my DIY to car detailing. The main focus of this DIY will be major steps and products used. I won't be discussing things like how to hold the buffer / polisher and things like that. This is to hard to explain and best seen in videos or in person. Videos can be found on Final Inspection's youbtube channel

Note: I am not a professional detailer and I have only polished / waxed a handful of times. As such, what you are reading is based on things I have read or found out myself in the little time I have been detailing my BMW. This DIY is simply an outline of the process to follow and good quality products to use with a few hints and tips.

Here are the products that I used:

Wash:
Meguires Gold Car wash
Meguires wool mitt x 2 (one for body, one for wheels)
Final inspection Power Wheel Cleaner
High-pressure washer
Final inspection waffle weave drying towel x 2 (one for body, one for wheels and sills)

Polish:
Blue Painters Tape
Dodojuice Clay
Clay lube / quick detailer
A random orbital polisher
Menzerna Power Finish OEM PO203S
Menzerna Final Finish OEM Hi Cut 106FF
Dodojuice Lime Prime
Festool 6" Orange pad
Festool 6" White pad
Festool 6" Black pad

Wax:
Dodojuice Supernatural Wax
Microfibre applicator pad

Detail Exterior:
Meguires NXT tire gel
Invisible glass spray from Final Inspection
Final Inspection Gloss Boost (quick detailer)

Detail interior:
BMW Leather cleaner (foam)
Final Inspection Leather Feed

Misc:
A whole bunch of good quality microfibers
6 x Stella Artois
iPod dock
Led Lenser P7 LED torch
Patience